RSS

What Are You Reading? (98) #IMWAYR – June 8, 2014

08 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Daydreams & Fairy Tales

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m working on an exciting new project- Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream)– which will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014!

I’ve decided to share my progress with it along the way. This week was primarily research. I really do see it as a great learning opportunity! Every day I’m discovering something new about Daydreams & Fairy Tales. Some prove to be challenging but they just create excitement in how I’ll have to tackle them!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: June 3, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week

Zoe's Jungle by Bethanie Deeney Murguia [**]- This picture book is about an imaginative girl who enjoys exploring- and she doesn't have to really go anywhere because her imagination is so strong! I was surprised this was actually the third book in this series.

Zoe’s Jungle by Bethanie Deeney Murguia [**]- This picture book is about an imaginative girl who enjoys exploring- and she doesn’t have to really go anywhere because her imagination is so strong! I was surprised this was actually the third book in this series.

 The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton [****]

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton [****]


This is magical realism at its best. Touches of Charles Dicken, John Irving, and Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus but utterly original. This is not just the story of girl born with wings. It’s the epic heartbreaking and hopeful story of one family through the generations.

Hooray for Hat! by Brian Won [**]- An absolute cute story about what it takes to turn any frown upside down! The illustrations are great and very eye-catching!

Hooray for Hat! by Brian Won [**]- An absolute cute story about what it takes to turn any frown upside down! The illustrations are great and very eye-catching!

The Insider's Guide to Book Publishing Success by Eric Kampmann, Margot Atwell, and Sarah Lucie [***]i I found this book very informative. I wasn't expecting it to be too concise and to go too in-depth but it gave me lots to think about.

The Insider’s Guide to Book Publishing Success by Eric Kampmann, Margot Atwell, and Sarah Lucie [***]i I found this book very informative. I wasn’t expecting it to be too concise and to go too in-depth but it gave me lots to think about.

The Star-Spangled Banner by Francis Scott Key, Illustrated by Peter Spier [***]

The Star-Spangled Banner
by Francis Scott Key, Illustrated by Peter Spier [***]


Expect a review of this during my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post on Wednesday.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

This week, I’m reading Rita Williams-Garcia’s One Crazy Summer for our Family Book Club at work!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (98) #IMWAYR – June 8, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    June 8, 2014 at 10:06 pm

    Some more good books, Earl. I just had a friend send me “The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton” as a recommendation. I hope I can read it soon. Thanks for the sharing of those final three, too! Have a great week!

     
  2. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 9, 2014 at 5:24 am

    I can’t wait to read Gaston. I am a sucker for bulldogs. And lucky you that you got to read the new Ivan book. I am anxiously awaiting for October to come.

     
  3. Megan

    June 9, 2014 at 8:33 am

    I am not sure why I initially passed over the Ava Lavender book, but this post made me take a second, closer look. I totally want to read that! Thanks for sharing!
    ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-22c

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 9, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I love John Irving, so I am glad to hear about the Ava Lavender book. Also, the Insider’s Guide seems to be very interesting. Thank you for sharing these. I hope you have a great week, Earl!

     
  5. Myra GB

    June 9, 2014 at 10:53 pm

    The Ava Lavender book looks beautiful! I hope I can find it in our libraries – looks like a new title. Your project really sounds exciting, and I love your enthusiasm about it. Really looking forward to it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
