RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #23

11 Jun
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

I’m in the process of updating my blog so I’m experimenting with a few review formats. Please let me know which you like.

The Star-Spangled Banner by Francis Scott Key, Illustrated by Peter Spier [***]

The Star-Spangled Banner
by Francis Scott Key, Illustrated by Peter Spier [***]


This is a great book to celebrate any patriotic holiday or for any elementary school. Selected lines from the national anthem get some beautiful illustrations in this reissue of a classic picture book. The endpapers includes a timeline of the flag (and various other flags) throughout the years. Lots of great additional information can be found at the end of the book.

Queen Victoria's Bathing Machine by Gloria Whelan, Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter [***]

Queen Victoria’s Bathing Machine by Gloria Whelan, Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter [***]

Queen Victoria’s Bathing Machine
Written by
Gloria Whelan
Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter
Publisher/Number of pages: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books; 40 pages
Published May 6th 2014
Illustration style: Pen and watercolor rendered digitally
Category/Age Range: Nonfiction Picture Book; Ages 4-8
Goodreads Summary: Prince Albert comes up with a royally creative solution to Queen Victoria’s modesty concerns in this true story that reveals an overlooked splash of history.

Poor Queen Victoria! She loves to swim, but can’t quite figure out how to get to the water without her devoted subjects glimpsing her swimming suit. (Because, of course, such a sight would compromise her regal dignity.) Fortunately for the water-loving monarch, it’s Prince Albert to the rescue with an invention fit for a queen!

This quirky tale about the longest reigning monarch in British history is as fun as it is authentic, and the book includes a picture of the actual bathing machine Prince Albert created.
Review: Fans of historical nonfiction picture books with focus on royalty will enjoy this fascinating account of what a husband comes up with to make his wife’s dream to go swimming come true. Readers will enjoy thinking about how behaviors have changed throughout the years in regards to what’s considered proper swimming attire! An author’s note gives more background information about Queen Victoria. I found the rhyming text to be sort of clunky but the illustrations are so playful!

A Home for Mr. Emerson by Barbara Kerley, Illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham

A Home for Mr. Emerson by Barbara Kerley, Illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham


(Click on image to go directly to publisher’s page for official summary.)
This is a writer/illustrator duo I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for. They always tend to find interesting subjects and the illustrations are very distinctive and appealing. An author’s note and a great classroom guide can be found at the end. The book is appropriately peppered with quotes to inspire. My favorite was: Make yourself necessary to somebody. (The illustrations were done digitally.)

 

6 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #23

  1. Michele

    June 11, 2014 at 8:07 am

    The Queen Victoria one looks fun!
    I like when you add how many stars you give the book, and I’m usually more interested in what you think about the book than the actual review, but it’s nice to be able to find a summary if needed. So I’d say a combo of #1 and #3 🙂

     
  2. alybee930

    June 11, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Funny to see you experimenting with your review process, at the same time I am playing with mine. I like having well written reviews to access but I usually don’t need “stars” if the review was written in a way that gave me the information I need. I also like links and additional information (publisher’s information, etc) about the book.

    I just requested the Queen Victoria one from my library.

     
  3. Sheila (Book Journey)

    June 11, 2014 at 9:09 am

    Great covers!

     
  4. Crystal

    June 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    That Queen Victoria looks so fun. I am always amazed at the complicated bathing costumes that people used to wear. I like the second review because the extra info is there if I need it, but I can also just scan past it if I don’t.

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 11, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    Thank you for the Star-Spangled Banner suggestion. I have it ordered and on its way here so I can review it for July 4th 🙂

     
  6. Myra GB

    June 16, 2014 at 4:00 am

    A Home for Mr Emerson caught my eye – looks beautiful, and it’s the first I’m hearing of that duo too! Hmm.. will be on the lookout for more titles. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
