RSS

What Are You Reading? (99) #IMWAYR – June 15, 2014

15 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey's album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:


Celebrate This Week

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Pigsticks and Harold and the Incredible Journey by Alex Milway [**]

Pigsticks and Harold and the Incredible Journey by Alex Milway [**]


Pigsticks and Harold and the Incredible Journey
Written by
Alex Milway
Publisher/Number of pages: Candlewick Press; 84 pages
Published May 27, 2014
Illustration style: Ink and colored digitally
Category/Age Range: Early Reader/Beginning Chapter Book; Ages 4-7
Goodreads Summary: In a wry new early reader, the world’s most optimistic pig and his nervous hamster sidekick set out on an exploration to find the Ends of the Earth.

Pigsticks is the last in a noble line of explorers, and he’s decided it’s time for him to follow in his forepigs’ footsteps — with an assistant to do the heavy lifting, of course. When his help-wanted ad draws a motley crew of candidates, he chooses a hapless delivery hamster named Harold. As the unlikely duo set off from Tuptown with plenty of tea cakes in tow, Pigsticks is breathless with excitement (and Harold is struggling for breath under all the gear). But after a long trek through jungles, over deserts, and up a giant ice-topped mountain, the last crumb of cake is stolen by a herd of thieving goats, and their goal is nowhere in sight. Will they ever discover the Ends of the Earth? Could it be in the last place they’d ever think to look?
Review: Fans of Elephant & Piggie will delight in this longer story about two unlikely but brave friends who set out on an adventure. The illustrations are great additions to the story adding another layer of humor in this funny beginning chapter book.

Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress by Christine Baldacchino, Illustrated by Isabelle Malenfant

Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress by Christine Baldacchino, Illustrated by Isabelle Malenfant


(Click on image to go directly to publisher’s page for official summary.)
Morris Micklewhite loves to paint and play pretend just like everyone else. But he also loves to wear a tangerine dress at school which gets him teased. Tackling a very controversial subject in a light but realistic way, hopefully this will have kids thinking more about what makes us similar than different!
(The illustrations were done in charcoal, watercolor, pastel, and Adobe Photoshop.)

Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle, Read by Tim Federle (***)

Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle, Read by Tim Federle (***)

– The following is my original review of the book from April 2013…
Title: Better Nate than Ever
Author: Tim Federle
Publication Date: February 5, 2013
Rating: ***
Review: I stayed up all night reading this book! This was getting a lot of buzz where I work. How can it not? It’s about a boy who runs away to audition for E.T.: The Musical! You can’t help but be taken in by Nate’s wide-eyed wonderment of New York City. As awkward as he was and the sometimes cringeworthy situations he finds himself in, he was definitely relatable. Another great character is his best friend Libby. I’m rooting for Nate and am hoping there’ll be more books to come.
Category: Middle Reader Fiction

I decided to listen to the audiobook version of the book since June is Audiobook and Pride month. I was as invested in the story as I was the first time!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish One Crazy Summer this week- as well as The Dumbest Idea Ever! by Jimmy Gownley. And, maybe, I’ll listen to some more of the audiobook version of Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty.

What are you reading?

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (99) #IMWAYR – June 15, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    June 16, 2014 at 7:00 am

    I still need to read Better Nate Than Ever, a recent important story, right? And those picture books look good, too, Earl. I will go back to read your A Home For Mr. Emerson-looks interesting, too.

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    June 16, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Love Better Nate than Ever, should try to listen to it too… Heard good things about it before. A Home for Mr. Emerson by Barbara Kerley – love reading books by Barbara, can’t wait to read this one. Has she visited the store yet? Love that she lives in PDX… had a great author visit with her a few years ago…

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    June 16, 2014 at 10:34 am

    I loved Better Nate than Ever! I still need to read Five, Six, Seven, Nate! Good idea to listen to it during Pride month.

     
  4. Elisabeth Ellington

    June 16, 2014 at 11:54 am

    I am in the middle of Better Nate Than Ever right now and enjoying. I read Jacob’s New Dress this week, about the same topic as Morris Micklewhite. I will have to find Morris Micklewhite too. Glad to see good books about this important topic!

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 16, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    I actually haven’t read any of the Nate books. I just recently got into the younger age group. (I used to be a YA-only reader.) I should definitely read them! Thanks for sharing these books. 🙂

     
  6. ipushbooks

    June 16, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    Better Nate Than Never is coming up soon in my TBR pile/list/etc. I’m glad to see a lot of love for it 🙂

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 16, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    I really loved The Dumbest Idea ever. It is a wonderful story!
    Enjoy One Crazy Summer as well. PS Be Eleven, the sequel, is very good as well.
    Better Nate Than Never is sitting in my TBR. I’ll get there soon-ish!
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Myra GB

    June 19, 2014 at 3:43 am

    I have a copy of Better Nate than Ever but I heard that it’s an amazing read. I gave a copy of this book to my daughter – so hopefully I get to read this with her soonest. Morris Micklewhite looks like my kind of read as well. 🙂 Good luck on your new book, Earl!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: