RSS

What Are You Reading? (100) #IMWAYR – June 22, 2014

22 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey's album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This is my 100th IMWAYR post! And, I’m nearing 1000 comments received on this blog! Thanks, everyone!

Nicole Rubel, the illustrator of the Rotten Ralph series written by Jack Gantos, celebrated 38 years of that character by having a party at our store. She read the first book in the series and sold some cool looking shirts and tote bags. Kids made their very own Rotten Ralph finger puppet, decorated some Rotten Ralph cookies, and made birthday cards. It was a very fun event. She was really nice and I’m always grateful when authors and illustrators choose our store to do an event. I ended up reading Rotten Ralph because of it!

Rotten Ralph by Jack Gantos, Illustrated by Nicole Rubel [***]- Mischievously delightful picture book about a very rotten cat. At first, I was put off by it because there seemed to be no comeuppance but I guess the real lesson was that despite anyone's imperfections, they'll be loved. I will definitely be recommending this series!

Rotten Ralph by Jack Gantos, Illustrated by Nicole Rubel [***]- Mischievously delightful picture book about a very rotten cat. At first, I was put off by it because there seemed to be no comeuppance but I guess the real lesson was that despite anyone’s imperfections, they’ll be loved. I will definitely be recommending this series!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: June 17, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating summer!

The Dumbest Idea Ever! by Jimmy Gownley [***]- The cartoonist draws on his own experiences as kid to become a bestselling graphic novelist! A fun inspiring read! Some parts did seem too perfect to be taken as fact, though.

The Dumbest Idea Ever! by Jimmy Gownley [***]- The cartoonist draws on his own experiences as kid to become a bestselling graphic novelist! A fun inspiring read! Some parts did seem too perfect to be taken as fact, though.

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia [***- My Pick of the Week!]

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia [***- My Pick of the Week!]


This is our store’s first Family Book Club pick and we’ll be discussing it this Wednesday so expect a review later this week!

Ghosts in the House! by Kazuno Kohara [***]- This is a popular title at our store during Halloween. A very cute story about turning ghosts into curtains, tablecloths and blankets! I love the linocut printmaking technique used for the illustrations.

Ghosts in the House! by Kazuno Kohara [***]- This is a popular title at our store during Halloween. A very cute story about turning ghosts into curtains, tablecloths and blankets! I love the linocut printmaking technique used for the illustrations.

Another Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone, Illustrated by Michael J. Smollin [*]- It's really a sad state when people feel the need to capitalize on something that worked so well the first time around. This is a very unnecessary sequel I wish I didn't bother reading!

Another Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone, Illustrated by Michael J. Smollin [*]- It’s really a sad state when people feel the need to capitalize on something that worked so well the first time around. This is a very unnecessary sequel I wish I didn’t bother reading!

A Mountain of Friends by Kerstin Schoene [**]- A cute picture book about what's possible with a little help from friends.

A Mountain of Friends by Kerstin Schoene [**]- A cute picture book about what’s possible with a little help from friends.

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm- Review/Rating withheld until release date of August 26th.

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm- Review/Rating withheld until release date of August 26th.

Three Bears in a Boat by David Soman [***]- This is definitely in the running for one of my most favorite picture books of the year with the winning combination of an entertaining story and beautiful illustrations! I definitely need to pick this book up again just to make sure I got everything in the first read through!

Three Bears in a Boat by David Soman [***]- This is definitely in the running for one of my most favorite picture books of the year with the winning combination of an entertaining story and beautiful illustrations! I definitely need to pick this book up again just to make sure I got everything in the first read through!

This Is a Moose by Richard T. Morris, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld [***]- Enjoyed the documentary style aspect of this picture book about a moose who doesn't act at all like a moose should. A fun story with a valuable lesson of not letting anyone deter to you from your dreams- even the (or especially the) seemingly out of this world kinds! Illustrations are great!

This Is a Moose by Richard T. Morris, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld [***]- Enjoyed the documentary style aspect of this picture book about a moose who doesn’t act at all like a moose should. A fun story with a valuable lesson of not letting anyone deter to you from your dreams- even the (or especially the) seemingly out of this world kinds! Illustrations are great!

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish West of the Moon by Margi Preus and hopefully some graphic novels that we have in inventory. I’ve taken it upon myself to read them all.

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (100) #IMWAYR – June 22, 2014

  1. Michele

    June 22, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    You have some great books here! Some I’ve read (Three Bears – wow, the illustrations!) and some I can’t wait to read (Moose, West/Moon, Fourteenth Goldfish). I’m quite jealous you’ve gotten through so many! Have a great week and happy 100th IMWAYR post!

     
  2. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 22, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I definitely need to check out THREE BEARS IN A BOAT! Off to put it on my goodreads TBR shelf!

     
  3. glambooklounge

    June 22, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    The series with the important historical figures looks adorable! I would totally read them to my nephew. I borrowed Ghosts in the House! from the library to read to him, and he REALLY loved it because he just loves Halloween and all the cute stuff associated with it.

     
  4. bluestockingthinking

    June 23, 2014 at 3:59 am

    I am right there with you on some parts of Dumbest Idea Ever seeming way too perfect to be real. As a matter of fact, at one point I remember thinking he was going to pull a: “well, that didn’t really happen, here’s how it went down…”

     
  5. Linda Baie

    June 23, 2014 at 6:08 am

    What a good list, Earl. I adore Three Bears In A Boat-& had the pleasure of my granddaughter loving it too. Will look for This Is A Moose, lots of good moose books available, & this looks fun, too. Your book/illustrator party sounds fun-lucky you at your bookstore! Congrats on 100 posts!

     
  6. Crystal

    June 23, 2014 at 7:00 am

    This is a Moose looks really fun. I am eager to get to The Fourteenth Goldfish. It’s had a lot of chatter on Twitter. Thanks!

     
  7. Holly Mueller

    June 23, 2014 at 8:57 am

    Can’t wait for The Fourteenth Goldfish! I liked Three Bears in a Boat, Grandfather Ghandi, and This is a Moose a lot. A Mountain of Friends looks really cute. Congrats on your #IMWAYR post number and comments!!

     
  8. onathought

    June 23, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    I’m really looking forward to The Fourteenth Goldfish – trying not to be too jealous of everyone who has already read it! Great list. 🙂

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 23, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    Great books this week! Jealous about Nicole Rubel. That’ll be so much fun.
    And I’m glad you liked Dumbest Idea Ever. I think it is one of the best NF GNs.
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  10. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 23, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Like you, I loved One Crazy Summer! It seems like you had such a great reading week. I hope next week proves just as fruitful.

     
  11. Myra GB

    June 24, 2014 at 7:16 am

    You have lots of books this week, Earl – more than usual I think. You must be very excited about the release of your book. I’ve been meaning to get my hands on One Crazy Summer for awhile now. The shiny medals on the book cover are enough to really make me intrigued, so I’m also glad to see that you enjoyed it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
