RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #25

25 Jun
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

Grandfather Gandhi by Arun Gandhi and Bethany Hegedus, Illustrated by Evan Turk [***]

Grandfather Gandhi by Arun Gandhi and Bethany Hegedus, Illustrated by Evan Turk [***]

First of all, the illustrations are wonderful- a great collage of fabric and materials. Beautiful! And, the true story of Gandhi’s grandson is very relatable of feeling not able to live up to other’s standards- in this case of not being able to be as peaceful all the time but especially when faced in a very charged situation. I love that the book’s website has a “Live Your Life as Light” pledge. I think this might pair well with Desmond Tutu’s Desmond and the Very Mean Word.

Rainbows Never End by Laura Lyn Disiena and Hannah Elliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]

Rainbows Never End by Laura Lyn Disiena, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]

I think I love this series. There’s so much to learn with these books and presented in such a fun way with very colorful illustrations. This particular entry is all about weather and I enjoyed discovering there were so many things that I didn’t know! Additional mini fun facts can be found at the end of the book. Looking forward to the future titles!

 

6 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #25

  1. Clare and Tammy

    June 25, 2014 at 7:58 am

    We also loved Grandfather Gandhi. Thanks for the website tip — great to use with students.
    Clare and Tammy

     
  2. Michele

    June 25, 2014 at 8:21 am

    I have Grandfather Gandhi waiting for me at home, will read it once we get back from vacation! The other series looks fun, I’ll have to check it out!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    June 25, 2014 at 9:22 am

    I am working with another writer on a story that includes rainbow info, so this book should be good for a source, Earl. I also need to read Grandfather Ghandi-looks so good. Thank you!

     
  4. katie simmons

    June 25, 2014 at 11:51 am

    Grandfather Gandhi is the best book! Love everything about it!

     
  5. Crystal

    June 25, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    I loved Grandfather Ghandi. I will have to look for this series. Weather is always a hit with the students.

     
  6. Myra GB

    July 2, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    I am now avidly on the look out for Did You Know titles – as I’m beginning to think my daughter needs more nonfiction titles this summer. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
