RSS

What Are You Reading? (101) #IMWAYR – June 29, 2014

29 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey's album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:


Review: One Crazy Summer– Read my review for:
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia [***- My Pick of the Week!]

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia [***- My Pick of the Week!]


Celebrate This Week

I Wish I Had a Pet by Maggie Rudy [***]- An absolutely adorable book. I can't wait until Maggie Rudy comes to our store in July!

I Wish I Had a Pet by Maggie Rudy [***]- An absolutely adorable book. I can’t wait until Maggie Rudy comes to our store in July!

The Grudge Keeper by Mara Rockliff [***]- I had to read this when a customer kept coming in to buy multiple copies. This beautifully illustrated picture book not only delivers a great messages of not needing to hold on to grudges but is a very entertaining read filled with a rich vocabulary!

The Grudge Keeper by Mara Rockliff [***]- I had to read this when a customer kept coming in to buy multiple copies. This beautifully illustrated picture book not only delivers a great messages of not needing to hold on to grudges but is a very entertaining read filled with a rich vocabulary!

The Hueys in None the Number by Oliver Jeffers [**]- This counting adventure is probably my favorite in the Hueys series. I actually laughed.

The Hueys in None the Number by Oliver Jeffers [**]- This counting adventure is probably my favorite in the Hueys series. I actually laughed.

 One Beetle Too Many: The Extraordinary Adventures of Charles Darwin by Kathryn Lasky, Illustrated by Matthew Trueman [***]

One Beetle Too Many: The Extraordinary Adventures of Charles Darwin by Kathryn Lasky, Illustrated by Matthew Trueman [***]


Expect a review for this during my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post on Wednesday.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I plan on reading The Chronicles of Narnia (in publication order) this summer. First up, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe!

I’m also reading Margi Preus’ West of the Moon.

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (101) #IMWAYR – June 29, 2014

  1. Emily Lim-Leh

    June 29, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    It’s my first time on the meme so I’m hopping over to say hi to a fellow meme-er. I love Chronicles of Narnia!

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    June 30, 2014 at 4:06 am

    Oh yay! I met Mara Rockliff when I was in New York and interviewed her for Armchair BEA. She was fun to talk to *had as many questions for me abut blogging as I had for her about writing). The Grudge Keeper sounded so fun!

     
  3. Julee Murphy at Book Egg

    June 30, 2014 at 6:16 am

    I Wish I Had a Pet is one of the cutest book covers I have ever seen. How sweet is that? Now I am also curious about The Grudge Keeper. Anything someone expresses repeated interest as your customer did, I want to know what the buzz is about. It sounds like it might have possibilities as a mentor text.

     
  4. carriegelson

    June 30, 2014 at 8:15 am

    I have The Grudge Keeper on my TBR list. Looks fantastic! I also enjoyed Grandfather Gandhi. Such beautiful illustrations. Great books shared here Earl!

     
  5. Michele

    June 30, 2014 at 9:38 am

    I have West of the Moon on hold for me at the library. I’m hearing good things!! Grandfather Gandhi is in my pile for today. I liked the Grudge Keeper but didn’t love it… Have a great week!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 30, 2014 at 11:00 am

    I am reading The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe right now! It is a slow process because I read a few pages aloud to my son each night, but I am glad to hear that someone else is reading it too! I hope you have a terrific week!

     
  7. Elisabeth Ellington

    June 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

    The cover for One Beetle Too Many is gorgeous! I’m excited about a Darwin PB bio–will be looking for your review on Wed. I think I’m going to break down and order Grandfather Gandhi today.

     
  8. Tara Smith

    June 30, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    You have inspired me to pick up my copy of One Crazy Summer – thanks, Earl!

     
  9. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 30, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Oh my goodness! I Wish I Had a Pet looks absolutely adorable! I definitely need to read that one!

    And I also need to get my hands on the next Hueys book. Though I didn’t really care for the second one. I loved the first one though.

     
  10. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 30, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    I’m glad you liked One Crazy Summer. You should definitely pick up P.S. Be Eleven. I liked it even more!
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  11. The Styling Librarian

    June 30, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    One Beetle Too Many: I love Kathryn Lasky’s books, must check that one out… thanks…

     
  12. Myra GB

    July 3, 2014 at 2:31 am

    Hi there Earl! I just pinned the PBB that you shared here about Charles Darwin. I haven’t read any of the Hueys titles yet, and to think I am a huge oliver jeffers fan.

     

Leave a Reply

 
