RSS

Reading Resolutions: June Update

30 Jun

With so many Reading Challenges out there, I figured doing a monthly update of the ones I’m doing will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off Your Reading List– Currently my (ever growing) Reading List has 67 lines with some of them covering an entire series or author’s work and includes upcoming releases. Most of these are for my Reading Challenges. With 36 of these read, I’m down to 31!

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

I’m seriously slacking off on my Off the Shelf, Must Read in 2014, and Agatha Christie challenges!

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.


With 8 more nonfiction picture books read this month (plus one I’d forgotten to include,) that brings my total to 59 of 104 books.
*The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Peter Sís
*The Star-Spangled Banner by Francis Scott Key, Illustrated by Peter Spier
*Queen Victoria’s Bathing Machine by Gloria Whelan, Illustrated by Nancy Carpenter
*A Home for Mr. Emerson by Barbara Kerley, Illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham

*I Am Rosa Parks by Brad Meltzer, Illustrated by Christopher Eliopoulos
*Grandfather Gandhi by Arun Gandhi and Bethany Hegedus, Illustrated by Evan Turk
*Rainbows Never End by Laura Lyn Disiena, Illustrated by Pete Oswald

*One Beetle Too Many: The Extraordinary Adventures of Charles Darwin by Kathryn Lasky, Illustrated by Matthew Trueman

Readings & Literary Events
*David Vinjamuri
*Friends of the Multnomah County Library Annual Meeting

*Rose City Used Book Fair
*Family Book Club

How are your Reading Resolutions going?

 

6 responses to “Reading Resolutions: June Update

  1. Erin McGill Beard

    June 30, 2014 at 6:10 am

    I just ordered a few of these for our library for fall! It’s cool to see them on here. I am going to have to put the rest on our wish list! Have a great week. 🙂

     
  2. Lorna

    July 1, 2014 at 6:31 am

    Good for you! I’m impressed by the number and variety of reading goals and challenges! Here is my Must Read Update: http://notforlunch.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/must-read-in-2014-update-2/

     
  3. carriegelson

    July 1, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Earl – I agree with Lorna – such fantastic variety in your goals and your lists. Love all of the nonfiction you are reading and sharing!

     
  4. Ann

    July 1, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    Thank you for posting these NF titles! I can never have enough of these in my classroom. I recently read The Pilot and The Little Prince. I was astounded. How did I not know the connection between airplanes and The Little Prince? Fascinating. Thanks for sharing your reading life!

     
  5. LInda Baie (@LBaie)

    July 1, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    Love all you are doing to share so many books, Earl. Thank you for showing new ones every week!

     
  6. Fats Suela

    July 4, 2014 at 8:23 am

    The Little Prince is included in my top 10 favorite books. It’s nice to know that Peter Sis did a biographical feature on Antoine de Saint-Exupery! One Beetle Too Many sounds like a wonderful read as well! =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
