RSS

Celebrate This Week- July 5, 2014

05 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating library hopping!

Library hopping is basically bar hopping but going from one library to another. Even with all their similarities, each library has something different that sets it apart. I like finding what “it” is.

There were two libraries left in the Washington County Cooperative Library Services that I hadn’t been able to get to since public transportation doesn’t go there. (And believe me I’ll go crazy long distances to visit a library!) One of my friends offered to take me there and I was ecstatic!

I enjoy sharing this experience with friends who love libraries as much as I do- or at least willing to humor me and my slight obsession! It’s so cool to have been “officially” doing this annually for the past fifth years!

Here are previous library hops:
Our First Ever Library Hop
The 2nd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl
Library Hopping 2011 2.5: The Continuing Adventures of Marley and Pearl
The 3rd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl: LFL Edition, Part I
The 3rd Annual Library Hop Adventures of Marley and Pearl: LFL Edition, Part II
The Road Trippin’ Adventures of Ericat and Muffin: In which She takes Him Library Hopping and wonders what She got Herself into

If I were to continue the tradition of naming these moments, I’d call this one, “More Adventures of Ericat and Muffin: In which They reunite and go Library Hopping Again.” Really, it was so nice to see her. We used to be housemates and would have regular loft talks. It’s like no time had passed and we fell into that comfortable conversational groove within seconds. Our day also included record shopping and eating delicious German food!

A list of all the libraries I’ve visited since moving to Portland can be found here.

Speaking of libraries, my Multnomah County Library card got all worn out and I was able to replace it with their commemorative 150th edition one!

Can you guess which book I'm reading?

Can you guess which book I’m reading?

Oh, in the pictures above, I’m wearing this year’s summer reading t-shirt!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- July 5, 2014

  1. carriegelson

    July 5, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Earl – what fun! Libraries have such different vibes. Haven’t met one I haven’t liked!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    July 5, 2014 at 9:58 am

    Each library is different, I agree. One of the reasons I moved where I am now is that “MY” library is only a block away. I count that as a huge blessing, & it is a wonderful one. In the suburbs, where my son used to live was an amazing library, with a coffee shop, a used bookstore, and a huge collection. And, FYI, I have a colleague who has library cards for (I think) all the systems here in the metro area. She visits each as she feels like it. We readers have to have our book experiences, don’t we? Love that you do this, Earl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
