RSS

Celebrate This Week- July 12, 2014

12 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating having one of the best jobs in the world! Bookselling is more than just putting books in the hands of people. It’s about the connections made.

If you follow on Facebook, it seems I’m always gushing about being a bookseller- but can you blame me?

Green Bean Books is an absolutely cozy and charming children’s bookstore. I’ve lost count how often I’ve written about it on this blog. When I first stepped into the shop, I knew immediately it was a magical place- some sort of Narnia and Wonderland, Oz and Neverland, all mixed into one. And, the opportunity to get to work there was like being handed a Golden Ticket to Willy Wonka’s factory. And, today, Green Bean Books is celebrating its 5th anniversary! I’ve been excited all week!

As I was saying earlier, bookselling is about the connections made. Summer’s probably my favorite time of the year for the store because we have so many of our awesome customers bring their out-of-town guests in. They make it a destination spot!

I love talking about books to other passionate readers. A customer had lent me one of her favorite books and I told her I only gave it 2 of 5 stars on Goodreads. She said, “You should reconsider your rating system.” Jokingly, I’m sure. I love telling people how I really feel about books and hearing what people really feel about my recommendations! People’s preferences are so varied!

And, I love it when different aspects of my life collide. I got to meet Debbie of The Styling Librarian and show her around Green Bean Books! I thought it was a cool moment- how books have this incredible almost magical way of connecting people and it always feels like a new discovery every time it happens!

Our current window display! My boss is incredibly talented!

Our current window display! My boss is incredibly talented!

When you find yourself in Portland, Oregon, do stop by Green Bean Books and say hi!

If you’re feeling particularly festive, you can greet the store on Facebook or Twitter!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- July 12, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    July 12, 2014 at 8:13 am

    If I ever get to Portland… I will definitely be sure to come by, Earl. We have two great Indies here in Denver, & some amazing used bookstores too, but GreenBean Books does sound magical! “like being handed a Golden Ticket to Willy Wonka’s factory”. Love the words, and happy anniversary to you all!

     
  2. carriegelson

    July 12, 2014 at 9:35 am

    Earl- this is great. We had planned to come to Portland this summer but the teacher’s strike here meant we had to cancel that trip. Hope to do it soon though and I would love to visit this lovely bookstore you adore!

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    July 12, 2014 at 10:29 am

    You are indeed blessed to be a bookseller! It’s the only other thing I would want to do besides being a teacher of reading. 😉 Congrats on the store’s anniversary! Fun that you got to meet Debbie, too!

     
  4. Leigh Anne

    July 12, 2014 at 10:30 am

    I so wish I had a bookstore nearby! The closest one is an hour away and it isn’t an Indie! I love the window display – now that is talent! How cool that you got to meet Debbie and give her a personal tour! You are so right when you said books connect us – especially in unexpected ways. Have fun celebrating today!

     
  5. Deb Frazier (@Deb_Frazier)

    July 12, 2014 at 10:42 am

    Oh, how have I missed your wonderful bookstore? I want to take a road trip- Columbus Ohio-Portland…hmmm! I have followed all your sn!

     
  6. Michele

    July 12, 2014 at 11:21 am

    I love this celebration! I celebrated Indies not too long ago in a SoL post, I just love them, for some of the reasons you give – people who work at indies have connections with their customers that other book owners just don’t. I love summer b/c I have more time to get to Chicagoland indies. We don’t live close to any of the, so it’s always a trip for us, but I welcome the time and days I can get to them.

     
  7. jarhartz

    July 12, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    You are just like my son. He just graduated from college and I do believe his dream job would be in a bookstore. I don’t know if he’d consider Portland, but I’m passing this on to him. So good to have lovers of books and book stores to love.

     

Leave a Reply

 
