RSS

Celebrate This Week- July 19, 2014

19 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

I had something else I was going to celebrate this week but I just found out one of my former bosses passed away. I really didn’t think it would affect me as much as it is since we hadn’t talked to one another in years and we’ve succumbed to receiving the occasional updates on Facebook.

We worked together at Day by Day Calendar Co., which was a subdivision of Borders. That was my first job since moving to Portland- and it was going to be my first holiday on my own. He was nice enough to invite me over to their place for Thanksgiving, even picking me up during one of the worst snowstorm in recent years.

That’s what I’ll remember about him. His kindness knew no limits and he gave it to everyone. He loved his wife and son. He loved his friends. He loved people.

His death is a reminder that nothing in life is guaranteed to us. Live a life of love. Let that be the legacy we leave.

William, rest in peace.

What- or who- are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- July 19, 2014

  1. Amy Rudd

    July 19, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Sorry to hear about his death…you’ve shared wonderful memories about his legacy. It’s great to remember to live a life of love.

     
  2. Christy Rush-Levine (@CRushLevine)

    July 19, 2014 at 11:38 am

    It is lovely to find a way to celebrate his role in your life. I am sorry for your loss.

     
  3. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    July 19, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    This is such a nice tribute to someone who affected your life in a positive way. I am sorry to hear of your loss. May your remembering his life bring comfort to you and to his family.

     
  4. Elisabeth Ellington

    July 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    “Live a life of love.” Yes!

     
  5. alybee930

    July 19, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    A person lives on through the memories of how they touched our lives. It sounds like your former boss was very kind and left a bit of a legacy in the way that he touched your life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
