RSS

Celebrate This Week- July 26, 2014

26 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating trying and the book Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff!

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]


I was almost hesitant to read this middle reader novel because it was so highly praised by so many people. I felt I was going to end up wasting my time reading a book just to be on the same bandwagon. But I’m glad I picked this up! I absolutely loved it!

Albie is a fifth grader who feels like he’s not quite good enough for anything nor for everyone. The world is complicated with adults who don’t understand and kids who mistreat those who are different from them. But along the way he meets people who are “caring and thoughtful and good” just like himself.

There are many elements in this book that make it accessible and relatable. This will be a great book to have alongside R.J. Palacio’s Wonder, Kevin Henkes’ A Year of Billy Miller and Tim Federle’s Better Nate than Ever of various kinds of being different from a boy’s perspective.

Readers will be rooting for Albie!

Another thing I loved about this book was that nobody’s perfect but everyone is doing their darndest. It’s something we can all try and remember. Sometimes we need to tell ourselves that. I know I have to remind myself constantly to try and let that be okay.

I try to be a good person in relations to my family and friends and to others I may encounter. But sometimes I’m grumpy and irritated and not as nice as I can be.

I try to take better care of myself. But sometimes I eat more tater tots than I should.

I try to be a good bookseller but it’s true: so many books, so little time. And, sometimes I get overwhelmed with everything else I have to do on top of that!

I try to achieve my goal of being a writer. But sometimes I get intimidated or self-conscious.

Sometimes, I feel like not even trying. But we’ll never get anywhere or know what we’re capable of if we don’t even try.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

Leave a Reply

 
