RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 2, 2014

02 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating books bringing people together!

We had our second Family Book Club this past Wednesday where we discussed Shelby Bach’s Of Giants and Ice.

Of Giants and Ice by Shelby Bach [***]

Of Giants and Ice by Shelby Bach [***]

I admit I originally had no plans of reading this book when it first came out because I felt “fairy-taled” out but it’s amazing when you’re a local author who shops at your local independent bookstore and the booksellers discover you’ve written some books that fits well with their customer base and you’re nice to them that they end up wanting to promote your book! That’s how I came about to reading this book and I’m so glad I did and that we picked it for our Family Book Club.

Mixing real-life situations (Rory’s parents are divorced and she and mom move around a lot) and fantasy elements (Rory ends up attending a school where they train the students to become characters in fairy tales), populating it with familiar and diverse characters, readers are bound to find something to relate to and enjoy in this first book of the Ever Afters series. Plus, there’s plenty of adventure and a mysterious Destiny to want find out what happens next.

As I’ve mentioned, Shelby Bach is a Portland author and she was kind of enough to join our Family Book Club. She gave us lots of great insight about the stories and her writing process- and juicy details of what’s to come up next!

Happy book club goers got to meet the author!

Happy book club goers got to meet the author!

We had familiar and new faces- even a family who drove from Washington just to see her! Books bring people together!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 2, 2014

  1. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    August 2, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I love the idea of a family book club. I have been wanting to start one at my school for a couple years. Maybe this year is the year I will get it going. Thanks for sharing about this title as well. I definitely get sick of fairy tales, but this sounds like one that middle grade students will love. Have a great week!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 2, 2014 at 9:04 am

    Your bookstore just sounds wonderful, Earl. This family book club idea is something I wonder about working at school. I probably would never have heard of this book, so now it’s on my list. Thanks much. Shelby Bach sounds like a very generous author!

     
  3. Kendra

    August 2, 2014 at 10:07 am

    I’m so glad to see your link today! I am collecting titles, and I love the idea of a family book club. Your blog is engaging, I’ve added it to my Feedly! (Something for me to celebrate!)

     
  4. Lisa Keeler

    August 2, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    A family book club is a great idea. And having the author join you makes it even more special.I don’t know this book- am looking forward to checking it out.

     
  5. carriegelson

    August 2, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    So great! What fun to have family book club! I am hoping to get to Portland in the next year and have a chance to visit your store.

     
  6. Julie Johnson

    August 2, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I’m so glad you shared about this book, because it’s a new title to me. You’ve made me want to check it out. Family book clubs are so fun and you’re right, bringing people and books together is something to celebrate. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
