RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 9, 2014

09 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating life’s random moments.

#1

On Monday, a customer came in our store looking for kids books Amy Bloom had mentioned during her recent New York Times interview. (There were some great recommendations- including Judith Viorst’s Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day and James Marshall’s George and Martha series.

The next evening, after rushing from one volunteering event to attend a Friends of the Library meeting, I realized I had somehow mixed up my dates- and there was actually no meeting. Looking for something in the area, I ended up attending a reading at Powell’s. Who was the author but no other than Amy Bloom?!?

I hadn’t read any of her books but her latest novel- Lucky Us– did sound interesting. She was a great speaker. Speaking of her writing process, she said, “I don’t know anything… But then I just buckle down.” About stories, “A really good ending [should alter] everything that has come before it.” The reader should see things differently as if through a prism.

#2

On Thursday, I decided to go to one of my library adventures where I take public transportation and go insane distances to visit libraries I’ve never been to. While waiting for one of the buses to get me there, an elderly woman started chatting with me.

Lady: What’s your Chinese zodiac sign?
Me: Pig?
Lady: I knew it! I was going to say that! You seem like a pig!

After some more questions from the lady, I ended up sharing that I was from the Philippines and I was going to be a children’s book writer. She then proceeded to say she knew someone from the Philippines and that she was writing something herself. I was going to dismiss her as another crazy person who I somehow seem to attract particularly when I got the impression she was trying to hook me up with the Filipina girl she knew. But she really was well-intentioned and she didn’t ask anything of me. She even told me about a Dr. Seuss movie they were playing that night in Portland that I didn’t even know about- The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T. It was a completely absurd but enjoyable musical! View the trailer here.

These two random events- a lady looking for books and another lady asking questions- ended up leading to two different wonderful evenings. I will definitely be on the look out for more of these kinds of moments!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 9, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    August 9, 2014 at 7:50 am

    What serendipity, & how great to be open to discovery, Earl. I hope you’ll continue to let us know about what you’re doing. And, did you get to that far-off library?

     
  2. loraleebain

    August 9, 2014 at 9:32 am

    What interesting evenings you had! How wonderful!

    It is so neat that you go on library adventures!

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    August 9, 2014 at 9:58 am

    Love the serendipity of your adventures this week! Also glad to know I’m not the only person who will trek to unusual places to visit a library! I really like what Amy Bloom says about fiction endings. That must be very difficult to pull off!

     
  4. jarhartz

    August 9, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    I had the same thought as Elizabeth, serendipity. I love the Amy Bloom quotes. Such a perfect way to think about reading and writing. And, adventuring to far flung libraries by public transport! It’s no wonder you attract such interesting situations. Love it!

     
  5. carriegelson

    August 9, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Lovely encounters! Thanks for sharing with us!

     

Leave a Reply

 
