RSS

2014 #PB10FOR10

10 Aug

pb 10 for 10 015
Cathy at Reflect and Refine and Mandy at Enjoy and Embrace Learning host this fun event.

Working at a children’s bookstore, I am surrounded by shelves and shelves of picture books. I see customers who come in nostalgic for a story they loved as a child and eager to share it with a new generation. There are kids- and adults- whose faces light up as they discover a new title. Sometimes a parent would read to their son or daughter and other children will somehow get in on the impromptu storytime!

Here are the top 10 picture books I’ve recommended the most as a bookseller.

Journey by Aaron Becker

Journey by Aaron Becker


Click on the cover for my review of the book!

The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton

The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton


Click on the cover for my review of the book and of the author!

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers


This is a book I’ve enjoyed more and more as I’ve told more and more people about it. A funny and imaginative story about a box of crayons writing letters to their owner. I love listening to adults read this to kids and hearing laughter from them!

Beautiful Oops! by Barney Saltzberg

Beautiful Oops! by Barney Saltzberg


Click on the cover for my review of the book and its companion, A Little Bit of Oomph!

A Dog Is a Dog by Stephen Shaskan

A Dog Is a Dog by Stephen Shaskan


I love the retro illustrations. It’s great for beginning readers. It’s a storytime hit. The first surprise in this delightful book is that it’s really not a dog but a cat in a dog costume! And it only gets sillier from there!

Ladybug Girl by David Soman, Illustrated by Jacky Davis

Ladybug Girl by David Soman, Illustrated by Jacky Davis


Click on the cover for my review of the series! Ladybug Girl at the Beach is my favorite out of all of them!

Three Bears in a Boat by David Soman

Three Bears in a Boat by David Soman


Click on the cover for my review of the book!

The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson, Illustrated by Beth Krommes

The House in the Night
by Susan Marie Swanson, Illustrated by Beth Krommes


Reminiscent of Goodnight Moon, The House in the Night is a book I’ve grown to enjoy more as time passed. I love the black and white illustrations with the splashes of gold. The text and its rhythm are very soothing.

Press Here by Hervé Tullet

Press Here by Hervé Tullet


This is such a fun, interactive book for kids. They will delight in the cause-and-effect if they follow the directions!

We Are in a Book! by Mo Willems

We Are in a Book! by Mo Willems


Click on the cover for my review of the Elephant & Piggie series and of the author! This is my favorite book out of all of them!

What are some titles your local bookseller has recommended that you’ve loved?

 

8 responses to “2014 #PB10FOR10

  1. carriegelson

    August 10, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Love this idea Earl! One of my favourite booksellers introduced me to Herman and Rosie and oh, how I adore this title!

     
  2. Elisabeth Ellington

    August 10, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Wonderful idea for your list, Earl. I’ve never read any of the Ladybug books but they’re on my list now!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    August 10, 2014 at 10:57 am

    I was just at a favorite Indie, Earl, but the recommendations were middle grade this time. I saw a few PB titles, but only bought chapter books! Love your idea for the list-will look for some I don’t know like The House In The Night-sounds like it will make a beautiful read aloud & discussion!

     
  4. thelogonauts

    August 10, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Great recommendations! I have been seeing the crayons all over the place today – must read!

     
  5. Kendra

    August 10, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    When I was in Nebraska this summer, the bookseller introduced me to Country Road ABC, which also was written by a local author for me. I do love a unique ABC book, and she found one. 🙂 My #pb10for10 was actually on shopping at Indie book stores. I learned so much this summer, and am so thankful that I was encouraged to return to local shopping!

     
  6. Stephen Shaskan

    August 10, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    Thanks for including A DOG IS A DOG with all these fantastic books!

     
  7. Michelle @litlearningzone

    August 10, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Great list! Thanks for sharing right from the heart of a book oasis! (Lucky you!) I have The Little House in my classroom library but I don’t remember it!! Also need to check out Three Bears in a Boat & The House in the Night.

     
  8. Cathy Mere

    August 11, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    There are a lot of favorites here. My classes always love Ladybug Girl, Press Here, anything Elephant & Piggie, The Day the Crayons Quit and Beautiful Oops. I’m looking forward to checking out The House in the Night and Three Bears in a Boat. They’re both new to me. Thanks for joining the conversation.
    Cathy

     

Leave a Reply

 
