RSS

What Are You Reading? (107) #IMWAYR – August 10, 2014

10 Aug
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: August 5, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Reviews: The Chronicles of Narnia– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– I celebrate life’s random moments.

2014 #PB10FOR10– This is my first ‪#‎pb10for10‬ and I’ve shared my top 10 books I’ve recommended most as a children’s bookseller!

I hope you take the time to read some of the posts above!

Countablock by Christopher Franceschelli, Illustrated by Peskimo [***]- It was like Christmas when I unboxed this book at work. I loved Alphablock and I didn't even know about this. Naturally, the art is still awesome. And counting to one hundred has never been so fun!

Countablock by Christopher Franceschelli, Illustrated by Peskimo [***]- It was like Christmas when I unboxed this book at work. I loved Alphablock and I didn’t even know about this. Naturally, the art is still awesome. And counting to one hundred has never been so fun!

The Best Book in the World by Rilla Alexander [**]- A cute book about everything that makes reading awesome. Wonderful illustrations. Can be  gift for any voracious reader regardless of age.

The Best Book in the World by Rilla Alexander [**]- A cute book about everything that makes reading awesome. Wonderful illustrations. Can be gift for any voracious reader regardless of age.

Mix It Up! by Hervé Tullet [***]- The best way to talk about this book is not to talk about Press Here since we all loved that book and it was a unique experience for all of us. This follow-up is also good even though now there is a "been there, done that" kind of feeling. It does manage to be different though since it tackles colors and all the things that happen when you mix them up.

Mix It Up! by Hervé Tullet [***]- The best way to talk about this book is not to talk about Press Here since we all loved that book and it was a unique experience for all of us. This follow-up is also good even though now there is a “been there, done that” kind of feeling. It does manage to be different though since it tackles colors and all the things that happen when you mix them up.


Expected publication: September 16, 2014

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

This week, I’m finally getting to one of my #MustReadin2014 title, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (107) #IMWAYR – August 10, 2014

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    August 11, 2014 at 3:00 am

    Love The Chronicles of Narnia though it’s been many years since I read them

    Keep on reading!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 11, 2014 at 5:51 am

    Glad you enjoyed going back to Narnia, Earl. I definitely will find countablock for the 3 year old grandchild. It looks great, & then I discovered there is alpha block, too! Thanks for sharing those, especially.

     
  3. Julee Murphy

    August 11, 2014 at 5:55 am

    Nice selection. The Lion, the Witch, and The Wardrobe had a big impact on me as a reader. It is the type of book that becomes part of you-a point in your timeline of life.

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    August 11, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Thanks for the new book scoop! 🙂 Enjoyed your top recommended bookseller titles as well. Ooohhh enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I loved it. I actually listened to the first and second audiobook in that series… powerful stories. Probably will relisten sometime soon. Happy reading this week!

     
  5. Michele

    August 11, 2014 at 8:24 am

    I’ve been waiting for my library to get Bear’s Sea Escape, but they’re a little slow on ordering it. May need to be a personal purchase! I can’t wait for Mix It Up, I’ve only just recently read Press Here!

     
  6. Elisabeth Ellington

    August 11, 2014 at 10:45 am

    I STILL haven’t read Press Here. I see it at the library, pick it up, flip through, say “meh” and put it down. Will try to remedy that this week! I’ve also never heard of Alphablock but will look for it. Sounds like one to share in my Children’s Lit class. Thanks!

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 11, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    I like your review of Mix It Up. That makes complete sense. Looking at a new book by an author through the lens of an old book is never good. I am also very impressed with your C.S. Lewis reading. Go, Earl, go!

     
  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 11, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Oh no! I haven’t read Pete the Cat and the New Guy–a dud? Did you ever get to read the magic sunglasses one (with no song)?
    I cannot wait to play with Mix it Up! Thank you for reminding me about it.

     
  9. Myra GB

    August 12, 2014 at 1:35 am

    Hi there Earl, Countablock sounds awesome! I have to beef up my collection of counting and alphabet books – this one sounds like a definite collector’s item. Very happy to read that you enjoyed Narnia. I remember being enamoured with the novels too at one point. I am also looking foward to reading the Laini Taylor series. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
