RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 16, 2014

16 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating moments. Despite all the gloom and doom and bleakness in the news and what’s happening in the world, everyday this week has had nice moments for me- whether having great interactions with customers, hanging out with friends, or going to events.

Sunday

I really enjoyed participating in this year’s #PB10for10. I loved reading other people’s lists and definitely want to check out lots of the books that were mentioned!

Monday

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

I was having a rather horrible case of the Mondays when some Readers came into the store. Their flight back to Colorado was delayed a bit and they decided to go to our store because they loved our recommendations from when they were here last time! We talked about books and bookstores and my blog. I love those kinds of connections!- From this blog’s Facebook page which is a few likes away from 60. I hope you’ll consider liking it if you haven’t yet!

I also got the chance to share my blog with a couple of people! That always cheer me up!

Tuesday

Discovered another Wishing Tree on my way to volunteer at the Maya Angelou Art Camp where I helped kids paint their puppet show stage!

hand

Then, later that day, at another volunteer event, great conversations were had about the importance of books in the lives of students. I recommended Wonder and The Book Whisperer!

Wednesday

Jackaby by William Ritter [***]

Jackaby by William Ritter [***]

There will be a new YA book coming out in September that I think will be a big hit- Jackaby by William Ritter. Fans of Sherlock Holmes (especially the Benedict Cumberbatch portrayal) will enjoy this first in a series debut that mixes mystery with more than a splash of the supernatural. A runaway suddenly finds herself far away from home and working for an eccentric detective. Ghosts, banshees, and blood-thirsty monsters are just some of the things that they must deal with. Likable (and familiar feeling) characters, clever dialogue, and plenty of action make this a must-read for fall!

The publisher offered a meet-the-author dinner and it was a nice evening spent talking to the sales rep, the author, and other booksellers. But, the food… it was heavenly!

Thursday

I met up with a friend who I don’t get to see as often as I should! She’s the person I’ve known the longest since moving to Portland!

On a serious note

I hope no one I know ever feels so alone and so lost and so sad that they’ll do something drastic- I don’t even want to say it- because that’s never the answer. Seek help. Life is too valuable to throw away. No one is ever unloved.

I’m glad we have this meme to focus on the positive. Thanks again to Ruth for organizing and everyone participating!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 16, 2014

  1. Michele

    August 16, 2014 at 8:40 am

    Talking about books is always a celebration! I’m glad you got to do so in some meaningful conversations! Have a great week!

     
  2. Emma

    August 16, 2014 at 8:51 am

    Thanks for your recommendation – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender was amazing and made my flight fly by!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    August 16, 2014 at 9:44 am

    A dinner with the author-really special. I’ll keep an eye out for the book, Earl. And I agree with your ending words. I hope this week will help many to find support. Hope next week is good for you too!

     
  4. Tara Smith

    August 16, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Thanks for alerting us to this new book – how marvelous that you had a chance to meet the author!

     
  5. cvarsalona

    August 23, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Loved hearing about book store conversations-a wonderful place to chat and soak in the beauty of books. Your new pick for YA sounds like a magical one. You piece ends on a positive note and that is wonderful. (Positivity is the topic for my offering this week.) Perhaps, you would be interested in reflecting/writing on a summer serenity spot. If so, stroll over to http://beyondliteracylink.blogspot.com/2014/08/summer-serenity-photo-essay-unfolds-in.html. I am collecting all poem/photos this week for an unveiling of the gallery at the end of August.

     

Leave a Reply

 
