RSS

New Releases: August 26, 2014

26 Aug

Today is like Christmas for readers with so many highly anticipated books coming out. I’ve dubbed it #Bookmas at work. These are only the ones I’ve read and I’ve got so many books to take on to make a dent.

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm [***]

The Fourteenth Goldfish
by Jennifer L. Holm [***]


I read an advanced reader’s copy of this middle reader novel earlier this summer. I can see why people have been raving about this book. The concept is intriguing. A girl’s grandfather somehow manages to reverse the aging process and becomes a teenager living with her and her mom, his daughter. This book will no doubt get kids thinking about the big questions in and of life.

Alexander, Who's Trying His Best to Be the Best Boy Ever by Judith Viorst, Illustrated by Isidre Mones [***]

Alexander, Who’s Trying His Best to Be the Best Boy Ever by Judith Viorst, Illustrated by Isidre Mones [***]


Welcome back, Alexander! What a pleasant surprise to see this book! Readers- new and old to the character and series- will find this troublemaker’s latest antics a delight!

Hug Machine by Scott Campbell [***]

Hug Machine by Scott Campbell [***]


What an absolutely adorable book! I can’t see anyone having any problem with this! As someone who gives the best hugs, I can relate. Someone did hug me recently, unexpectedly, and I withdrew into my safe place like a turtle sensing danger. But when I’m giving hugs, I’m sure it’s awesome for the recipient- like being embraced by an octopus finishing its fast.

Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato [***]

Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato [***]


Of all the cute picture books celebrating one’s differentiating trait and the power of friendship, this one definitely takes the cake- or, should I say, cupcake? Super adorable story and the cute illustrations just make you want to squeeze Elliot’s cheeks. I already want to read more of his adventures. I feel like I’m Eliot!

Quest by Aaron Becker [***]

Quest by Aaron Becker [***]


A visually stunning companion to Journey, which I loved. As far as sequels go, and it being the second book in a trilogy, this wordless picture book managed to stick with what made the first book great and infuse this one with a new sense of wonder and magic!

Day Dreamers by Emily Winfield Martin [**]

Day Dreamers by Emily Winfield Martin [**]


A sweet story about letting one’s imagination run free. Beautiful illustrations as usual!

 

Leave a Reply

 
