RSS

New Releases: September 9, 2014

09 Sep

 Everything I Need to Know About Christmas I Learned From a Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow [*]

Everything I Need to Know About Christmas I Learned From a Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow [*]


A companion to Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Little Golden Book, this wasn’t as enjoyable but I think that’s mostly due to sequels rarely being as good as their predecessors.

On the Wing by David Elliott, Illustrated by Becca Stadtlander [*]

On the Wing by David Elliott, Illustrated by Becca Stadtlander [*]


Beautiful illustrations are paired with short (or even shorter) poems each one focusing on a different type of bird. This is just another must-add title to the whole flock of great bird books that have come out this past year.

Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton [**]

Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton [**]


Chris Haughton seems to be an up and coming author/illustrator. His Little Owl Lost has been extremely popular as I’m sure this would be as well. Reading Shh! was like watching a classic cartoon- full of visual gags and humor both obvious and subtle.

Telephone by Mac Barnett, Illustrated by Jen Corace [***]

Telephone by Mac Barnett, Illustrated by Jen Corace [***]


What a great read aloud! I think this might win the Theodore Geisel award. I’ll definitely be recommending this to customers who love a fun story, taking something most of us are familiar with and twisting it into something new!

 

One response to “New Releases: September 9, 2014

  1. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 9, 2014 at 9:52 am

    The illustrations of Shh! We Have a Plan look like very good fun. I haven’t heard of that one! I also appreciated your review of The Little Prince yesterday. It made me want to go back and read it again! I hope you have a great week, Earl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
