The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.
Viva Frida by Yuyi Morales, Photographed by Tim O'Meara [**]
Viva Frida by Yuyi Morales, Photographed by Tim O’Meara [**]

The doll/puppet portraits are visually stunning and definitely the selling point of this picture book. Another cool aspect is the bilingual aspect- even the author’s note (which has the actual non-fiction parts) is written in both English and Spanish.

Jason Chin has been recommended to me by a lot of our customers so I’ve been meaning to read his books and finally got around to it. And I am thrilled to have found such a great “new” writer/illustrator.

Gravity was my introduction to Jason Chin. His latest is also his shortest- and illustratively his weakest as well- but doesn’t diminish how enjoyable and informative it was.

Coral Reefs was a wonder of a book. I loved the fantasy element mixed in with all the fascinating facts!

Redwoods is another creative non-fiction type of picture book.

His storytelling style reminds me a bit of David Weisner’s.

I will definitely be recommending Jason Chin to others!

4 thoughts on “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #36

  1. Well, I guess I’ve just added 4 books to my list, Earl. The Frida book is not appealing to me because of the dolls, but if you say it’s good, I’ll be sure to find & read it. I still haven’t read Gravity, & also will look for his others. Thanks a lot for all!

  2. Nice! I have read Gravity but didn’t realize there were others. Thanks for sharing.

    I wasn’t overly excited by the Frida book. It didn’t feel like it gave me much information (though I agree the bilingual aspect was nice)

  3. Jason Chin definitely has a unique style! I just picked up Frida from the library, I’m interested in starting it soon! Sounds like mixed reviews so far.

  4. Gravity sounds absolutely perfect for our current reading theme – but looks like the library copies are all out (at least the one closest to my place). Will try my luck next week. 🙂 Frida looks gorgeous!

Leave a comment