RSS

Celebrate This Week- September 13, 2014

13 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating volunteering.

This past Tuesday was particularly great. Lots of conversations about books and musicals. And, of course, there was the whole cleaning books to get them ready to give to kids of low-income families! I don’t think the other volunteers wanted to leave- which is awesome because hopefully they’ll tell others and come back themselves with new friends in tow!

And, at long last, I’ll reach 100 hours of volunteering later today at my library shift!

Another thing I’m celebrating is my upcoming trip to San Francisco later this month to visit family and do some sightseeing. I get excited thinking about what I’m book I’m going to bring with me and I’ve narrowed it down to:

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- September 13, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    September 13, 2014 at 8:19 am

    A special volunteer is to be appreciated very much, Earl. Congrats on your 100 hours! and, I’ll look for that title-anything about a bookstore sounds great to me! Thank you!

     
  2. Michele

    September 13, 2014 at 9:50 am

    Your Tuesday does sound great! I know there are many kids who will be very grateful to receive those books! Hope the rest of your weekend goes as well.

     
  3. carriegelson

    September 13, 2014 at 10:00 am

    Earl, I love that you do this. Before I started my full time work, I volunteered for years. So rewarding. Enjoy your trip!

     
  4. Crystal

    September 14, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Volunteer work is so important. I love that excitement before a trip. It’s half the fun having something to look forward to in the weeks beforehand. San Francisco is one of my favorite places.

     

Leave a Reply

 
