RSS

What Are You Reading? (112) #IMWAYR – September 13, 2014

14 Sep
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: September 9, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating volunteering! I reached 100 hours today!

brown girl dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson [***]

brown girl dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson [***]


brown girl dreaming is a powerful moving memoir told in verse written by a gifted writer. Jacqueline Woodson gives us glimpses of her childhood in a way that seems rushed but then stops at moments with startling discovery. I loved the relationships- how family can cause us pain and sadness but how they can also make us happier and stronger than anything else in the world. Kids will enjoy- and parents will appreciate- how patience helped Woodson discover what she was good at. Don’t we all want to excel something that’ll set us apart? Aspiring writers will take inspiration and courage from the fact that stories are all around us and within us if we just look.

Horton and the Kwuggerbug and more Lost Stories by Dr. Seuss [***]

Horton and the Kwuggerbug and more Lost Stories by Dr. Seuss [***]


It’s such a thrill to have had new Seuss stories to look forward to! Following The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories, Horton and the Kwuggerbug and more Lost Stories brings back familiar faces and places. Nostalgia and admiration for his “logical insanity” will be rampant while reading this 4-story collection featuring Horton, Marco, Mulberry Street, and a Grinch (but not that Grinch!) Even the introduction by Seuss scholar Charles D. Cohen was entertaining providing background and context to the found stories.

Fox's Garden by Princesse Camcam [**]

Fox’s Garden by Princesse Camcam [**]


Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Cut-paper illustrations set the scenes for this wordless picture book about the surprising consequences of kindness.

Draw! by Raúl Colón [**]

Draw! by Raúl Colón [**]


This wordless picture book finds a boy alone in his room… and with his drawings and his imagination finds himself in a safari adventure. This would be a fun companion to David Wiesner’s Art & Max. Available September 16th.

Druthers by Matt Phelan [**]

Druthers by Matt Phelan [**]


First of all, the title itself is a fun new word to learn! Second, I’ve always enjoyed Matt Phelan’s stories and illustrations. Third, I like seeing strong relationships, this time between a father and daughter. Fourth, this is just an overall cute story about how much fun can be had with a good dose of imagination- and a great companion!

The Smallest Girl in the Smallest Grade by Justin Roberts, Illustrated by Christian Robinson [*]

The Smallest Girl in the Smallest Grade by Justin Roberts, Illustrated by Christian Robinson [*]


The message of standing up for what’s right was good. The illustrations were good. The story itself was lacking.

One by Kathryn Otoshi [*]

One by Kathryn Otoshi [*]


I’m surprised I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I would. Not to sound like a broken record but: The message of standing up for what’s right was good. The illustrations were good. The story itself was lacking. I will check out her other books though.

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and Michelle Knudsen’s Evil Librarian.

Have a great reading week!

 

13 responses to “What Are You Reading? (112) #IMWAYR – September 13, 2014

  1. Julee Murphy

    September 14, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    I am really curious about the Everything I know about Christmas I learned from a Little Golden book. My students really enjoyed Coral Reefs. Draw has an excellent cover and itself would make for a good writing prompt.

     
  2. Guy R Vestal

    September 15, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Evil Librarian is on my GR TBR Here is my Monday I need to move it up the list. I keep seeing it, but passing it by. LOL

     
  3. Emily Lim-Leh

    September 15, 2014 at 6:12 am

    Lots of fun books on your list that I need to check out. I actually had One on my list to borrow. Hmm..I’ll still check it out along with another 1-2 of her books then.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    September 15, 2014 at 6:16 am

    Love this: “Aspiring writers will take inspiration and courage from the fact that stories are all around us and within us if we just look.” It is a lovely book, I agree, Earl. And also will find Fox’s Garden, & look for Druthers-sounds like fun! Thank you!

     
  5. Tara Smith

    September 15, 2014 at 8:18 am

    Congratulations on all the hours ! So jealous that yo already have Brown Girl Dreaming – I’m still waiting for my copy.

     
  6. Elisabeth Ellington

    September 15, 2014 at 10:20 am

    I’m reading Brown Girl Dreaming right now–slowly because I love it. Definitely the most distinguished middle grade I’ve read this year. A new Christian Robinson excites me–though the story sounds a bit bland. (I didn’t love the story in Gaston either–but Robinson’s illustrations were superb.)

     
  7. Michele Knott

    September 15, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Love BGD, so many passages to share and discuss. I am going to Woodson’s luncheon at NCTE, can’t wait to hear her stories in person!
    I liked your honesty about One. I actually used it with 4th graders (as well as Zero) because although a simplistic story, I wanted to see if they could take it to a higher level of discussion. I got Two this past week and liked the message in that one too, although the stop and go of the rhyme got to me a bit.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 15, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    I am glad you loved brown girl dreaming. I found it to be a powerful story, as well. I was waiting to hear what you thought about it. 🙂 It seems you had several picture books like mine this week. Great illustrations with a story that was lacking. We will press on and find the gems! The Smallest Girl in the Smallest Grade did have a great title and cover. I was curious about it. Thanks for your review.

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    September 15, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    I look forward to reading the new Seuss stories. I am intrigued.
    Love Matt Phelan, so I need to read the one you shared.
    Glad you liked brown girl dreaming. It is a special book.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  10. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    September 15, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    I can’t wait to read Telephone. I’m not so patiently waiting for it to come in at my library.

     
  11. Nicole R (@AlwaysReiding)

    September 18, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I saw the Everything I need to know book at the bookstore and almost picked it up. It’s lovely!

     
  12. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    September 19, 2014 at 4:05 am

    Draw looks really cool! I also enjoyed Brown Girl Dreaming – and I’m eagerly anticipating Telephone. I need to go see if my library has it already!

     
  13. Myra GB

    September 19, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    I am excited about the new Dr. Seuss books – how cool is that?! Brown Girl Dreaming sounds like a book to savor. Good for the soul kind of read. Thanks for sharing all the other titles here as well and your candid thoughts about them. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
