RSS

Celebrate This Week- September 20, 2014

20 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

I’m celebrating the happy moments that transpired during the past week.

Monday

Monday turned out to be full of great moments I wasn’t expecting and added more reasons why I love working as a bookseller. I met so many super friendly literary people. I got to gush to Rosanne Parry and Aaron Becker how much I enjoy their books! I love it when authors and illustrators take the time to support independent bookstores!

Tuesday

I got to see a rather a cool exhibit at Powell’s.

When Ruby Was Blue by Emily Myers

When Ruby Was Blue by Emily Myers

I really thought it was a fresh way to tell a story and I just loved the mixed media. Here’s the description from Powell’s website with a link to the artist’s blog!

“When Ruby Was Blue” is an experimental narrative whose story unfolds on the walls as the audience moves through the gallery. The story follows a young girl’s psychological journey into the underworld. As all collages are created from a larger, whole image, Ruby learns of the power she has to create something beautiful out of a broken past. The creator, Emily Myers, combines her passions as a puppet maker, paper-cut illustrator, and storyteller to bring together this body of work, which is funded in part by the Regional Arts and Culture Council. Inspired by her childhood experience with death, Emily hopes this story will offer comfort to those who have lost a loved one.

Wednesday

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

I’m absolutely thrilled to be part of this year’s Cybils Awards as a Round 1 Middle Grade Fiction Judge! I love all the things I get to do to promote my commitment to literacy. And, I was happy to see so many of you are Judges as well! Congratulations!

In addition to that, an act of kindness at the store rejuvenated my spirits after an oddly draining day. A little girl was crying because she couldn’t get a stuffed animal. A sweet young lady bought it and surprised even me by giving it to the little girl!

Acts of kindness still surprise me. Each one is like a seed of love being planted that one day will grow be a tree that shelters a weary soul.

Thursday

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien [****]

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien [****]

I finished reading J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Expect a review on Monday to coincide with Hobbit Day!

I’ve also been thinking about the books that have made an impact on me, influenced me in some way, and shaped me into who I am today. What gives them the “stickyness” factor? When do they tend to resonate the most? Books are like life preservers that keep us afloat during stormy weather. They do more than entertain us. They speak to us. They tell us we are not alone. We find ourselves in them. They reflect who we are and who we can become. Books save us.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- September 20, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    September 20, 2014 at 9:48 am

    Congrats on being a Cybils judge, Earl. There are many familiar names, I agree. I enjoyed hearing all about your “bookish” days this week, the Powell’s exhibit, meeting the authors, and that sweet act of kindness. Your world sounds very nice most times. The Hobbit is an all-time favorite & I’ve read it many times with students, studying heroes especially. Can’t wait to see your review! Have a terrific week next week!

     
  2. Terje

    September 20, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Your celebration is filled with joy and excitement – meeting great authors, joining a group of wonderful Cybils judges, noticing kindness and of course reading. Your post made me smile.

     
  3. carriegelson

    September 20, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    Congratulations on being a Cybils judge! How very exciting!

     
  4. Holly Mueller

    September 21, 2014 at 6:57 am

    Congrats on being a Cybils judge! I’m a Round 2 judge for middle grade fiction, so I get to read what you help pick! yay! And you got to meet Aaron Becker! I met him at ALA this summer, and I was like a giddy teenager meeting a rock star. Ha. That Ruby exhibit looks really wonderful. And yay for books!

     
  5. Crystal

    September 21, 2014 at 5:47 pm

    So great that you get to be a Cybils judge. Have a great time! I didn’t know there was a Hobbit day. I love The Hobbit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
