RSS

Celebrate This Week- September 27, 2014

27 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating graphic novels.

We held our monthly Family Book Club and we chose 2 graphic novels to discuss. The reasons we chose graphic novels were two-fold. First, I wanted to let adults see how comics and graphic novels have come a long way from the standard superhero stories where the heroes were all good and the villains were all bad. This was definitely my presumption. Also, I wanted to tie it in with Banned Books Week with their focus on graphic novels this year.

We read the following books: (may contain spoilers)

Smile by Raina Telgemeier [***]

Smile by Raina Telgemeier [***]


It seems everyone had only good things to say about the book. With all the coming-of-age issues of friendship, appearances, and family relationships, there were definitely lots of relatable moments. I enjoyed the details in the illustrations. I also enjoyed the visual cues of time and place without having them be too obvious.

Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi [***]

Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi [***]


I’m not going to lie. When I got to the part where the dad died (right in the beginning), I was worried how others were going to react to this tragic event. I joked how I hoped they had watched enough Disney films to be used to this kind of thing. I really wasn’t sure what to expect but I ended up reading the whole series.

I was surprised I got addicted to the series. It helped that the characters became more fleshed out as we learned more about their back stories. I really liked how Navin’s role got bigger as the series progressed.

There were plenty of twists and turns to keep readers interested- not to mention the gorgeous illustrations. I can’t wait for the next installment and hope this will be a long-lasting series.

The Family Book Club brought in another group of people. They were very passionate readers. I enjoy how every time we meet we seem to end up writing down one another’s book suggestions. Other recommendations included Wonder, 13 Treasures, Watchmen, Fun Home, and Bone.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

5 responses to “Celebrate This Week- September 27, 2014

  1. Ramona

    September 27, 2014 at 8:18 am

    Love that you’re involved in a family book club. I haven’t read many graphic novels, but you’ve inspired me to give them a go.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 27, 2014 at 8:38 am

    I love Smile, & we just got Sisters at school, so that’s next for me. I know that the Amulet series is so popular, must read the first at least. I’m glad you are so enthused about them, Earl, makes me more interested. The people in your family book club must love the group-so great to share! Have a great weekend!

     
  3. jenferg11

    September 27, 2014 at 9:27 am

    I love that you shared so many great graphic novels. We talked about banned book week too. I played Michael Jackson’s “Bad” (idea I heard from teachers I love at RCA), and I hid books under a towel at their tables. I called them rebels if they’ve ever read any of the banned books I had hiding there.

    I met Raina Telgemeier last year at our local library. It was an amazing experience hearing how she writes her books.

    Thanks for reminding me to share more graphic novels with them. They are especially great for my reluctant readers.

     
  4. carriegelson

    September 27, 2014 at 10:48 am

    Wonderful celebration Earl. On Monday night we are taking our kids to see both of these authors here in Vancouver! So excited.

     
  5. Crystal

    September 27, 2014 at 11:12 am

    I have read more and more graphic novels over the past three or four years and I have become a fan. I am a words person so it really was an adjustment for me. I am sometimes even impatient with pictures in picture books. I have become much better at appreciating the illustrations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
