RSS

What Are You Reading? (114) #IMWAYR – September 28, 2014

28 Sep
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Multnomah County Library celebrated its 150th anniversary yesterday. I was there for the first hour as part of the Friends of the Library. We played trivia and asked riddles with the book and library-loving crowd. The library itself had guest speakers, free ice cream and donuts, story times in various languages, and so many more things going on they had to close off one of the streets! There was even a marching band.

Celebrating with a custom Biblio Blend and reading a library book!

Celebrating with a custom Biblio Blend and reading a library book!


This week, I posted:

New Releases: September 23,2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating graphic novels. Read my reviews for:

Foxly's Feast by Owen Davey [**]

Foxly’s Feast by Owen Davey [**]


A cute wordless picture book about a hungry fox and the all the different animals he meets on his way to dinner. I enjoyed the twist at the end!


I just couldn’t get into these books but people do like them.

The Stick by Clay Rice [**]

The Stick by Clay Rice [**]


Reminded me a bit of Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree and the illustrations of Nikki McClure’s. A cute enough story about believing in one’s self.

The Story Starts Here! by Caroline Merola [*]

The Story Starts Here! by Caroline Merola [*]


Unfortunately, this was a rather forgetable book for me but I can see why people might find it fascinating. Kids will enjoy the unconventional way of reading this book!

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’ll be going to San Francisco on Tuesday. I’ll be bringing Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. I won’t be bringing my laptop with me so that should be interesting. I do have some scheduled posts.

I’m reading Michelle Knudsen’s Evil Librarian and Karen Armstrong’s Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life.

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (114) #IMWAYR – September 28, 2014

  1. Christina T

    September 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Evil Librarian! That was a fun book 🙂 I do wish there was more librarianish stuff in it. I hope you are enjoying it.

    I’ve heard good things about Multnomah County library. Sounds like a fun and creative event.

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    September 28, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    What a cool celebration! Love that they went all out!

     
  3. MarthaE

    September 28, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Sounds like a fun event. Our Library had a day last week but I had a conflict and couldn’t get there. 😦 Looks like you have had lots of fun books and graphic novels. Happy Reading this week.

     
  4. msyingling

    September 29, 2014 at 3:33 am

    What? No Biblio Blend tea? Over the weekend I saw an ad for Glade’s Woodside Library air freshner– can’t say that my library smells like oak and leather. More like sweaty tweens! Have a great trip and ENJOY the time without your laptop!

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    September 29, 2014 at 5:52 am

    I’m looking forward to reading The Farmer and the Clown. It’s getting lots of love lately.

     
  6. Tara Smith

    September 29, 2014 at 7:07 am

    The Amulet series seems to be very popular among my kids – I haven’t read them myself, but perhaps it’s time to start.

     
  7. Elisabeth Ellington

    September 29, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Traveling without a laptop sounds scary to me! I just ordered Farmer & Clown–hoping it arrives today! Loved reading about the library celebration. Looking forward to your review of the nonfiction book on classical music.

     
  8. Guy R Vestal

    September 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    Evil Librarian is on my TBR!

    Guy Vestal @ Counter Culture Critic

     
  9. Megan

    September 29, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    I enjoyed Evil Librarian! The hot demon librarian is a nice change of pace. I really like Mr. Penumbra as well. Have a great week! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-28E

     
  10. Michele

    September 29, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    I have the Amulet series but just haven’t gotten to them. They sound fun. I read Smile this week too and I’m finishing Sisters. It’s a walk down memory lane for me – lots of 80s and 90s references!

     
  11. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 29, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    I wish my local library had such a cool Friends of the Library celebration. I hear about this and bookmobiles on other blogs, and I get a little bit jealous! You had a busy week! I hope next week is just as terrific. 🙂

     
  12. Myra GB

    October 6, 2014 at 1:17 am

    My daughter loves the Amulet series and will be giving her Smile for Christmas – not sure though whether she can wait that long. Haha. 🙂 Just borrowed The Right Word from the library, and looking forward to reading it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
