RSS

New Releases: September 30, 2014

30 Sep

The Book with No Pictures by B.J. Novak [**]

The Book with No Pictures by B.J. Novak [**]


How much fun read-alouds are is explored in a new clever way with this picture book with no pictures. It’ll be interesting to hear what other people’s takes on this are and how it’ll go during story time!

The Spectacular Tale of Peter Rabbit by Emma Thompson, Illustrated by Eleanor Taylor [**]

The Spectacular Tale of Peter Rabbit by Emma Thompson, Illustrated by Eleanor Taylor [**]


Emma Thompson continues Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit tales, perfectly capturing the sense and sensibility of the originals. I’ve got to say though I didn’t understand some of the phrases in the book which might confuse even much younger readers.

Read my other Peter Rabbit reviews here.

Lion, Lion by Miriam Busch, Illustrated by Larry Day [***]

Lion, Lion by Miriam Busch, Illustrated by Larry Day [***]


Fun picture book about one missing Lion, one hungry Lion, and a Boy. I love that one has to pay attention to the illustrations to fully appreciate the story. Lots of humor.

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle [**]

Flora and the Penguin by Molly Idle [**]


I wanted to like this since I was charmed by Flora and the Flamingo. It’s tough to follow up with something that was wildly appealing and fresh as her first book. I did enjoy the use of flaps and the fold-out pages!

This book just ate my dog! by Richard Byrne [***]

This book just ate my dog! by Richard Byrne [***]


I love how much fun people have been having with what makes a physical book so great! And, props to everyone designing a good book especially if has lots of little details to enjoy like this one. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where the gutter of the book is a character!

 

Leave a Reply

 
