RSS

What Are You Reading? (115) #IMWAYR – October 5, 2014

05 Oct
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Reading Resolutions: September Update

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating San Francisco for all its beauty and all the people that has made my vacation memorable.

San Francisco, Baby! by Ward Jenkins [*]

San Francisco, Baby! by Ward Jenkins [*]


Rhyming text. Cute illustrations.

Larry Gets Lost in San Francisco by Michael Mullin and John Skewes, Illsutrated by John Skewes [*]

Larry Gets Lost in San Francisco by Michael Mullin and John Skewes, Illustrated by John Skewes [*]


The Larry Gets Lost series is a cute way to sort of remember one’s vacation in a specific city. I like how it’s a guide book and that they have actually storylines.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading Michelle Knudsen’s Evil Librarian, Robin Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and Karen Armstrong’s Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life.

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (115) #IMWAYR – October 5, 2014

  1. Julee Murphy

    October 5, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    How cute is that title-This Book Just Ate My Dog. I want to read that one.

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    October 6, 2014 at 1:50 am

    This book just ate my dog! by Richard Byrne – when you give *** I look up… Plus great title, must read soon! 🙂 Happy reading to you…

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 6, 2014 at 5:34 am

    Will follow up on the reviews I missed last week, Earl. Simply Fantastic certainly looks good. Hope your vacation was wonderful!

     
  4. msyingling

    October 6, 2014 at 5:41 am

    I wanted more information than The Right Word gave– how geeky is that? More thesaurus info, please! Looking forward to your middle grade reading!

     
  5. Tara Smith

    October 6, 2014 at 8:44 am

    Lovely collection of picture books here, Earl!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    October 6, 2014 at 11:10 am

    I see you weren’t blown over by The Book with No Pictures. I’ve heard it is a crowd-pleaser in the classroom, and I was going to get it, but after seeing your rating, I may save my bucks.

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    October 6, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    I just got The Book with No Pictures from the library and I can’t wait to read it. That book has received quite a bit of buzz this past week.

     
  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    October 6, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    The Book with No Pictures and Flora are all over the place. Interesting to see you gave them both two stars–may have to get them from the library instead of/before buying them.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  9. Myra GB

    October 8, 2014 at 3:15 am

    San Francisco also happens to be one of my favourite cities in the US. Visited three times now, and looking forward to seeing the city again in November. Did you go to Green Apple? Beautiful place.

     

Leave a Reply

 
