RSS

San Francisco Visit Recap, Part 2

10 Oct

While in San Francisco, I visited some libraries and bookstores there and near the city, which I’ll share here.

My first stop was the San Francisco Main Public Library.

sfpl

My only memory of this place before was that it smelled like urine. But, I hadn’t really explored it until now. It’s a beautiful building with amazing art pieces. And it does still smell like pee but you can’t spell “public” without that.

A view of the top

A view of the top

I was glad to see that their Friends of the Library had a special bookstore there- Readers Bookstore at the Main.

sfpl1

One of their current exhibits was Berta and Elmer Hader: A Lifetime of Art based on the recently published book of the same name. It was only two glass cases but still a fascinating glimpse into their lives and their work. (You can read my review of another of their exhibit here.)

sfpl2

I also saw a copy of The Complete Collection of Pictures and Songs by Randolph Caldecott in their George M. Fox Collection of Early Children’s Books.

sfpl3

Another exhibit, Candi Farlice- Musings from an Artist’s Life, featured interesting ways to tell stories, including an apron containing pockets full of hair from various family members throughout the years.

sfpl4

San Francisco’s One City One Book pick this year was Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin. They had an exhibit using the book as a way to show people how life was like in the 1970s. (You can read my review of the book here.)

sfpl5

sfpl6

It was cool to see a StoryCorps StoryBooth there. I’ve been fascinated with various storytelling media.

sfpl7

Other bookstores and libraries I visited:

Chronicle Books- 165 4th St

Chronicle Books- 165 4th St

Thidwick Books

Thidwick Books


Green Apple Books
was definitely a destination for me. At first, I had forgotten the Annex was a separate building and was wondering what all the buzz was all about and where the other rooms were. Luckily, I walked the few more steps to the main store.

Books Inc. (Burlingame)- This tiny store was full of people buying books which made me happy!

Books Inc. (Burlingame)- This tiny store was full of people buying books which made me happy!

The Beat Museum- I grew up in the North Beach neighborhood. I remember going to a hole-in-wall used bookstore, where I'm sure this museum now stands. They do sell books here, including a bath tub full!

The Beat Museum- I grew up in the North Beach neighborhood. I remember going to a hole-in-wall used bookstore, where I’m sure this museum now stands. They do sell books here, including a bath tub full!


City Lights
was another bookstore in my Must-Visit list. I remember entering this place as a child by myself and feeling so out-of-place that I hurried out!

I hadn’t heard of Alexander Book Company before but fell in love with it!

Fairfield Cordelia Library

Fairfield Cordelia Library

Fairfield Cordelia Library- Friends of the Fairfield/Suisun City Libraries

Fairfield Cordelia Library- Friends of the Fairfield/Suisun City Libraries

Located at the Oakland Airport

Located at the Oakland Airport

San Francisco is such a rich literary scene!

 

Leave a Reply

 
