RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 11, 2014

11 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating a bunch of random things.

During my San Francisco vacation, I visited lots of bookstores, but my most favorite is the one I get to come home to- Green Bean Books! I work with wonderful people. I enjoy interacting with our regular customers- some of whom are published authors and illustrators.

lu1

Of course, there are books! I’m also celebrating the CYBILS Awards for allowing me to participate as a First Round Judge in the Middle Grade Fiction category. Already, I’m reading more great books I’ve been putting off.

lu2

Nominations are going on through October 15th so there’s still time to advocate for your favorite books!

I’m so glad I work at a great bookstore to help me have access to books. Then, there’s the equally great Multnomah County Library that also helps! While I was at Central’s Collins Gallery, I got to see The William Stafford Calligraphy Project exhibit. As if his words weren’t beautiful enough, it was wonderful to see them represented in various fonts, styles, and ways.

lu3

To support such a great institution is why I am a board member of our local Friends of the Library! We are gearing up for our Fall Used Book Sale- Oregon’s largest one!

Speaking of libraries, I discovered another Little Free Library in my neighborhood!

lu4

To bring this rather mishmash of a post together, I’m also celebrating that not only through this blog do I get to talk about all the things I love but also while celebrating at The Children’s Book Bank. On this blog’s Facebook page, I posted: “Another great night cleaning donated books to give to kids from low-income households. There was even an impromptu read aloud of one of the volunteer’s favorite books to read to her kids- Sandra Boynton’s “Moo, Baa, La La La!” Of course, there were also great conversations about books read that we loved and hated!”

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 11, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    October 11, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Earl, you do so much to get books into the hands of EVERYONE! I’d love to see your bookstore and come to the book sale. Wow-it’s so much fun to go to ours. And, love that you’re a Cybils judge. I love doing it for poetry, & you’ll read so much in the middle grade fiction-lots to love there! And-I would also love to see that William Stafford exhibit-what a treasure. Have a great rest of the weekend!

     
  2. msyingling

    October 11, 2014 at 8:18 am

    What a great vacation! I’ve thought of putting up a bench with a little free library on the back, since my house backs up to a park where kids play soccer games! It’s fun to find these.

     
  3. Terje

    October 11, 2014 at 8:35 am

    Coming to your blog I know I will smile because you have wonderful book celebrations. I am thinking of Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore. I think the two of you are related. 🙂

     
  4. Crystal

    October 11, 2014 at 9:45 am

    I love visiting bookstores while on vacation. I will be in San Fran over winter break. Do you have any recommendations there? I always think that if I ever had to leave my library gig, I would be applying at bookstores for sure. Surrounded by books and book people is a good thing.

     
  5. carriegelson

    October 11, 2014 at 9:59 am

    I love all of these bookish celebrations! Looks like you are doing some amazing reading! Enjoy.

     
  6. loraleebain

    October 11, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    Green Bean Books looks so charming and wonderful!

     
  7. jarhartz

    October 11, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Love all the book love here. Thank you for sharing it with us!

     

Leave a Reply

 
