RSS

What Are You Reading? (116) #IMWAYR – October 12, 2014

11 Oct
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating:

Frank! by Connah Brecon [**]- A charming story about a well-intentioned bear that gets him in trouble for always being late to school. A dance-off plays a part in the story so it's worth reading just for that!

Frank! by Connah Brecon [**]- A charming story about a well-intentioned bear that gets him in trouble for always being late to school. A dance-off plays a part in the story so it’s worth reading just for that!

The Meaning of MaggieThe Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow!

I’d been wanting to read this book since I love books with fun footnotes but I put it off until now.

Eleven-year-old Magnolia Jane Mayfield(a.k.a Maggie)is sure she’s going to be President of the United States so she starts writing her memoir. And she has lots to write about with all the changes happening in her family that requires all of them to pull themselves up by their bootstraps.

I love her unique view of life and of how the world works. I loved her go-getter attitude, her unwavering sense of right and wrong, and her inability to resist sweets.

A refreshing coming-of-age story that defines who a person is in terms of their family.

View all my reviews

Kid Sheriff and the Terrible Toads by Bob Shea, Illustrated by Lane Smith [**]- I didn't know what to expect with this picture book but it was quite delightful. It might not be an all around hit with everyone but I enjoyed how different it was. A dinosaur-loving seven-year-old becomes the sheriff of a crime-infested town!

Kid Sheriff and the Terrible Toads by Bob Shea, Illustrated by Lane Smith [**]- I didn’t know what to expect with this picture book but it was quite delightful. It might not be an all around hit with everyone but I enjoyed how different it was. A dinosaur-loving seven-year-old becomes the sheriff of a crime-infested town!

Hug Me by Simona Ciraolo [**]- Everyone needs a hug- and that's all Felipe wants and doesn't get. After a disastrous encounter with a balloon, he sets off on his own in search of a friend- and a hug!

Hug Me by Simona Ciraolo [**]- Everyone needs a hug- and that’s all Felipe wants and doesn’t get. After a disastrous encounter with a balloon, he sets off on his own in search of a friend- and a hug!

Sebastian and the Balloon by Philip C. Stead [**]- Beautiful old-fashioned illustrations but a bit boring.

Sebastian and the Balloon by Philip C. Stead [**]- Beautiful old-fashioned illustrations but a bit boring.

Margret & H.A. Rey's Curious George Goes to a Bookstore by J.M.B., Illustrated by M.O'K.Y [*]- To be fair, I never liked Curious George. But I love bookstores, so I gave this a try. I did try and credit the current author and illustrator but only found their initials.

Margret & H.A. Rey’s Curious George Goes to a Bookstore by J.M.B., Illustrated by M.O’K.Y [*]- To be fair, I never liked Curious George. But I love bookstores, so I gave this a try. I did try and credit the current author and illustrator but only found their initials.

A Perfectly Messed-Up Story by Patrick McDonnell [**]- Kids will enjoy this funny meta picture book. I'm feeling all gimmicked out though! At least, the main character learned a lesson.

A Perfectly Messed-Up Story by Patrick McDonnell [**]- Kids will enjoy this funny meta picture book. I’m feeling all gimmicked out though! At least, the main character learned a lesson.

The Storm Whale by Benji Davies [**]- The cover and the illustrations caught my eye. A sweet story about a boy and his father and a beached whale. I will definitely keep this in mind for Father's Day.

The Storm Whale by Benji Davies [**]- The cover and the illustrations caught my eye. A sweet story about a boy and his father and a beached whale. I will definitely keep this in mind for Father’s Day.

What There Is Before There Is Anything There: A Scary Story by . Liniers, Translated by Elisa Amado [**]- People will most likely buy this for the illustrations. They are wonderful. There's a dark humor that some people may enjoy but I don't think kids will.

What There Is Before There Is Anything There: A Scary Story by . Liniers, Translated by Elisa Amado [**]- People will most likely buy this for the illustrations. They are wonderful. There’s a dark humor that some people may enjoy but I don’t think kids will.

Hope Is a Ferris WheelHope Is a Ferris Wheel by Robin Herrera
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Let me get to the part I didn’t like first. Star seemed younger than her ten years. I’m sure there are kids who would react the same way she did, considering all the confusing and life-altering events happening to her, but she came off as acting and thinking younger. Maybe I’ve just been fortunate enough to interact with mature kids in my life.

Other than that, I enjoyed Hope is a Ferris Wheel. Star Mackie is having a hard time fitting in at school- being teased for living in a trailer park and having blue hair that looks like a mullet, just to name a few. Her family life isn’t going swimmingly either- with separated parents and a moody older sister, whom she adores but seems to be shrugging her off.

A solution to her problems comes from the most unexpected source- Emily Dickinson’s poetry!

A nice story about trying to find one’s place in a world.

View all my reviews

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Reasons why I wanted to read the book:

1. It’s about a bookstore.
2. The cover glows in the dark.
3. It takes place in San Francisco where I grew up.

This was an enjoyable read full of fascinating characters and interesting situations.

View all my reviews

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading as many of the following as I can… and then some more…

lu2

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (116) #IMWAYR – October 12, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    October 13, 2014 at 6:55 am

    Loved hearing about The Meaning of Maggie-will find it, & also liked the idea of Hug Me-sounds like a nice, prickly story! Have a good reading week, Earl!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    October 13, 2014 at 7:39 am

    Can’t wait to read The Meaning of Maggie- what piles of books you have there! I’d move Nest up in the pile… Happy reading to you!

     
  3. Ricki Ginsberg

    October 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    What?! The cover glows in the dark? Now I need to get it. I’ve been meaning to read that book for quite some time, and now I am sold!

     
  4. msyingling

    October 13, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    Any books that you want to see nominated? The nominations close on Wednesday, so if you want to post a list or tweet about things you’d like to see, that would be great. The 90 books we have to read is just not enough!!!

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    October 13, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    The Meaning of Maggie sounds fantastic!!! Now I cannot wait to read it–thank you for sharing!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    October 13, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Oh my goodness! I MUST read Frogs Play Cellos. That looks perfectly delightful.

    It’s interesting about Sebastian and the Balloon because I think I’d feel the same way as you about the book had I not heard Philip Stead speak a couple times about his and Erin’s love for children’s lit and what styles they prefer. They’re not fans of books having a moral or a lesson and like books that don’t end with a perfectly wrapped-up resolution. They also lean towards quirky yet in an Old-School kind of way. So knowing all those things about Phil, I had a greater appreciation for what he was doing in Sebastian. But yeah, had I not known those things, I probably would have disregarded this title as just not my thing.

     
  7. Crystal

    October 13, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Good to see that you liked Meaning of Maggie. I have had that on my mind for a while and plan to get to it at some point. I loved the trailer.

     
  8. Myra GB

    October 16, 2014 at 2:45 am

    If you enjoy reading novels with footnotes and notes on the margins and a number of asides, you might want to check out The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet by Reif Larsen which has been made into a film. It is quite long though, but I did find it an enjoyable read last year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
