RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #42

22 Oct
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

Malala Yousafzai: Warrior with WordsMalala Yousafzai: Warrior with Words by Karen Leggett Abouraya
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been wanting to read more about Malala ever since I’ve heard about her situation but didn’t really have the time to read her book- not even the Young Readers Edition. I didn’t even realize there was a picture book out until a parent came to the store asking about it since her four-year-old daughter wanted to be Malala for Halloween!

Luckily, I found this book in the library and was completely inspired by Malala, her words, and her actions, as I’m sure everyone else will be when they hear her story. They’d want to stand with her in her fight to ensure every child has access to education!

View all my reviews

Nelson Mandela: Long Walk to FreedomNelson Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom by Chris van Wyk
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another picture book I decided to read since I didn’t have time for the actual autobiography. But any exposure to the life of a great man like Nelson Mandela is good. I only knew bits and pieces of his life and his impact so I was glad to fill in some more gaps. I hope people will take away that they too can make a difference in the world around them. If there is an injustice, they have the power to right it.

A timeline and glossary follows the story.

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #42

  1. Linda Baie

    October 22, 2014 at 10:23 am

    Inspiring is the only word for both these lives, Earl. I’ve read the early book about Malala, but not this picture book. Glad you say it’s good, too.

     
  2. Holly Mueller

    October 22, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    I haven’t seen the Malala picture book. I love reading about her. She’s amazing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
