RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 25, 2014

25 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating the Cybils Awards for introducing me to books I normally wouldn’t have read.

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

Here are a couple of standout books…

The Secret Hum of a DaisyThe Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a book I had passed over when it first came out. I thought it was just going to be your typical orphaned-kid-must-now-face-the-world-on-their-own story but, after actually reading it, ended up appreciating it so much more.

The Secret Hum of a Daisy is a book full of surprises. Even when certain things were expected to happen, specific lessons to be be learned, I enjoyed the ride getting there. Loss- and how to rebuild a life after- was tackled very realistically and beautifully.

I also loved the way the different relationships and dynamics were written. I was reminded me how lucky I am for the grandmothers I have!

View all my reviews

A Bird On Water StreetA Bird On Water Street by Elizabeth O. Dulemba
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

For someone who doesn’t like historical fiction, nature, and extensive physical labor, I really enjoyed this novel.

It’s always refreshing to me to read about a male protagonist who has no obvious quirk but just is a relatable character going through unusual and life-changing experiences.

It was fascinating to read about a South Appalachian mining town set in the the 80’s- that despite the fact that mining was causing environmental devastation and taking actual physical lives, it was all they knew and they depended on it.

Some might think this is simple or naive but it rang true to me. It made me want to do something good for the planet. Not all books have to make a big loud impact. It can start out small, like a seed, and grow from there.

View all my reviews

What are you celebrating this week?

 

9 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 25, 2014

  1. Elisabeth Ellington

    October 25, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Good books are always cause to celebrate!

     
  2. Terje

    October 25, 2014 at 9:07 am

    It is interesting how our reading lives get stretched by opportunities.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 25, 2014 at 9:27 am

    Love how many books you’re going to explore, Earl. I loved Secret Hum…, but don’t know the other title, will look for it! Thanks, & have a lovely weekend!

     
  4. Holly Mueller

    October 25, 2014 at 10:02 am

    Oh, you’re starting on the Cybils books – yay! I LOVED Secret Hum of Daisy, but I’m going to have to get A Bird on Water Street – haven’t heard of that one.

     
  5. carriegelson

    October 25, 2014 at 10:21 am

    The Secret Hum was one of my favourites this year! Happy books and time to read them to you!

     
  6. csskubik

    October 25, 2014 at 11:56 am

    Thanks for the link to Cybils, never heard of it, looks good. Yeah- more books!

     
  7. jarhartz

    October 25, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    Thanks for passing on the book love. I rely on people, like you, venturing out and finding my next read!

     
  8. Ruth Ayres (@ruth_ayres)

    October 25, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    Reading books is always a perfect celebration! Thanks for sharing today.
    Ruth

     
  9. cvarsalona

    October 25, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    As Julieanne says, “Thanks for passing on the book love.” I enjoyed your reviews, Earl.

     

Leave a Reply

 
