RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 1, 2014

01 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Friends of the Library.

It’s no secret I’m a big lover and supporter and advocate of libraries- and so are Friends!

I remember being a page for the Las Vegas- Clark County Library District and the awesome, friendly, and dedicated staff and volunteers who ran our branch’s Friends of the Libary store. It was their kindness that made me seek out Friends of the Multnomah County Library when I moved to Portland. I was a volunteer at their store and Used Book Sale before currently being a Board Member.

It’s been a pleasure.

-excerpt, October 24, 2012

We currently held our Fall Used Book Sale and there’s just something about a roomful of readers that makes things exciting, exhilarating and electric. Despite the rain, we had dedicated people line up to get in before we opened doors each day of the sale. Some of them have been going for over a decade and it’s something they look forward to.

Here are some pics of the sale. It was pirate themed!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I would encourage you to see if your library has a Friends group and see what they’re up to!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 1, 2014

  1. jarhartz

    November 1, 2014 at 9:10 am

    I love used book sales and am a frequent visitor to my local library’s amazing stash. So thankful that libraries are there for book lovers who borrow, buy and donate books! Also great to see youth in pictures. Gives me hope for the future!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 1, 2014 at 10:38 am

    I always go to the sales, but never thought about the volunteers needed too. Maybe when I retire, Earl? I love your pictures-so smiley!

     
  3. carriegelson

    November 1, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Wow! This looks like so much fun. And love the pirate theme!

     

Leave a Reply

 
