RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 7, 2014

07 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Halloween and Gratitude.

For the third consecutive year, I had the opportunity to help a lady hand out books to neighborhood kids for Halloween. I love the surprise of some kids when they find out they’ll be getting a book instead of candy. I’m fortunate that my life is full of book-loving big hearted people. Sometimes I don’t know how I get so lucky!

Halloween Book Giving (Picture taken last year)

Halloween Book Giving (Picture taken last year)

To piggyback on that sentiment, I wanted to share a bookstore moment from a few days ago: I just love when the universe seems to know I need a little pick-me-up and sends wonderful Book Lovers and Readers to the store! Whether it’s the boy who’s finishing a 14-book series we recommended to him or the grandmother buying books for gifts, my day is so much better now because of them!

Oh, and I got this sweet surprise from one of our customers:
naomi

And this was from a family whose daughter was dressed up as Malala!
malalanote

Every day in November, I am writing one thing I’m grateful for on Instagram and tagging it #Instagrateful. Here are the things I’ve been #Instagrateful for this past week:

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 7, 2014

  1. Terje

    November 8, 2014 at 12:54 am

    Your live in a story world. I would love to get a book instead of a candy. Then again a surprise candy in return of book advice sounds great too.

     
  2. Ramona

    November 8, 2014 at 5:24 am

    How fun to hand out books for Halloween! I love the many ways we have to focus our thinking on gratitude this month.

     
  3. Kendra

    November 8, 2014 at 5:51 am

    Earl! There is a teacher in our community that does the same! We are in a community that does a “Trunk or Treat” where she hands out books instead of treats! My husband Loved Portland when he was there last spring, and was able to see some of the “local stuff” on his trip. It’s been added to our places of “to-travel.”

     
  4. Linda Baie

    November 8, 2014 at 6:34 am

    Love that you got to hand out those books, Earl. What a joy! I love the #instagrateful messages. I guess there are several groups doing daily gratitude things this month. And I love those thank you notes you received. You must be a treasure to the customers coming into your store. Happy Weekend!

     
  5. Michelle Haseltine

    November 8, 2014 at 8:05 am

    #Instagrateful?!?!? Love this!!!! And handing out books on Halloween? I may have enjoyed trick or treating more if I could come home with a giant sack of books instead of candy! Thanks for sharing!

     
  6. Michele

    November 8, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Love these celebrations. I love looking at our day to day life to find things to be grateful about. May you continue to have great conversations about books!

     

Leave a Reply

 
