RSS

Picture Book Month Reading Challenge- Part 2

16 Nov

pbmlogo

I’m celebrating Picture Book Month by reading at least one picture book a day, and going down the alphabet!

Part 1 of this series can be found here.

Nonfiction titles from E and F can be found here. I reviewed:

My H and I books can be found here. I reviewed:

***Apparently, I’ve accidentally deleted a lot of my book reviews on my blog through incorrectly editing captions for multiple posts.***

My J title:

Jack by Tomie dePaola [**]

Jack by Tomie dePaola [**]


This would make for a fun read aloud with all the parade of different animals a boy meets on his way to see the king. The end could have been stronger.

My K title:

Kiss Good Night by Amy Hest, Illustrated by Anita Jeram [**]

Kiss Good Night by Amy Hest, Illustrated by Anita Jeram [**]


I thought I would like this sweet story more than I actually did.

My L titles:


Little Owl explores the world around him in these books. Beautiful illustrations.

Leaves by David Ezra Stein [**]

Leaves by David Ezra Stein [**]


A cute story about a bear worried when the leaves started to fall and trying to put them back.

 The Lonely Typewriter by Peter Ackerman, Max Dalton [**]

The Lonely Typewriter by Peter Ackerman, Max Dalton [**]


I loved the culturally diverse family depicted here. I ended up selling this to a teacher right away. He thought this would be great for kids to see technology has evolved over the years. I can’t believe typewriters have become retro!

My M titles:

Maple & Willow Together by Lori Nichols [**]

Maple & Willow Together by Lori Nichols [**]


I don’t think this sequel was as strong as the first book. I appreciate the realistic portrayal of close siblings and I’m sure there’ll be some kids tickled by the new “language” used.

The Mouse Mansion by Karina Schaapman [**]

The Mouse Mansion by Karina Schaapman [**]


I was impressed by the dedication and artistry that this surely required. I’m sure there are lots more stories to tell. Reminds me of Maggie Rudy’s books, The House that Mouse Built and I Wish I Had a Pet.

My N titles:

The Nuts: Bedtime at the Nut House by Eric Litwin, Scott Magoon [*]

The Nuts: Bedtime at the Nut House by Eric Litwin, Scott Magoon [*]


I thought the Pete the Cat books were suffering because of Eric Litwin handing the reins to James Dean and his wife and not having sings in them but this was as bad as those books.

Noni the Pony by Alison Lester [*]

Noni the Pony by Alison Lester [*]


This started out fine but became pointless by the end.

My O titles:

Oliver Button Is a Sissy by Tomie dePaola  [***]

Oliver Button Is a Sissy by Tomie dePaola [***]


I’d been meaning to read this book and am so glad I finally did. What a wonderful story of accepting one’s difference. It’s such an important lesson to teach others to be more understanding of people who aren’t the same as them. It’s a delightful mix of the film and musical Billy Elliot and Tim Federle’s Nate books.

Expect a review of the following book during next week’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Amazing Animals: Owls by Valerie Bodden [***]

Amazing Animals: Owls by Valerie Bodden [***]

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
