RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 21, 2014

21 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating more #Instagrateful days and focusing on a couple of stand-out moments!

On Tuesday, I got to go to a very unique art exhibit put on by a bank- BY A BANK! Exhibit: Growth is an interactive and immersive experience involving motion activated sensors ending with the message: You are a force of nature. People were lining up to enter the geodesic dome (I like to call it an igloo) and have a go at it. Umpqua Bank thought of everything to make everyone feel taken care of. There were heat lamps outside and staff offering coffee. While the correlation between art and banking is still unclear to me, it’s because of their thoughtfulness that I’ve banked with them for so long!

Also on Tuesday, my roommate and I watched Billy Elliot: The Musical Live. Even though it was watching it in a theater screen, the whole thing was incredible and spectacular. My favorite stage musical performance after Wicked! (I also love the movie!)

Wednesday we had our Family Book Club at work. We discussed Rosanne Parry’s Heart of a Shepherd.

Heart of a ShepherdHeart of a Shepherd by Rosanne Parry
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“We were blown away by Heart of a Shepherd! It is so beautiful and heart wrenching!” This was part of an email I got from a mother who attends our Family Book Club with her daughter. Indeed, it’s one of those books that will get you emotional.

Right off the bat, I was sucked into this unfamiliar world of ranching and military-family life I normally wouldn’t have read. Brother was such a noble character, seemingly too good at times but actually very realistic considering everything he’s dealing with. This is another novel where grandparents have played a major part in a child’s life and I’m grateful for books like these.

It’s a coming of age novel that’s unlike anything I’ve ever read. And I knew I wanted to discuss this with other readers so that’s why I picked it for our Family Book Club. It was a real treat for everyone- including me- to have Rosanne Parry join us and give us her insight about her book.

She also shared some of the writing and publishing process. I loved her quote of “looking for trouble” when she writes her books. She even brought her manuscript for the new novel she’s working on. Oh, she also brought some ranching related props and I got lassoed by her!

View all my reviews

I've never been lassoed by an author before!

I’ve never been lassoed by an author before!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 21, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    November 22, 2014 at 6:39 am

    I love hearing about that new exhibit, Earl. What a great thing for a bank to do. And I have noted the book you all read for family book club. I’ve not heard of it, & it does sound good. Glad you are going to have some R & R this weekend. Happy Thanksgiving, too!

     
  2. Holly Mueller

    November 22, 2014 at 9:05 am

    Love your #instagrateful posts! I’ve never seen Billy Elliot, but would love to!

     
  3. carriegelson

    November 22, 2014 at 10:18 am

    These are so great Earl! Billy Elliot must have been incredible. Thanks for sharing all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
