RSS

Picture Book Month Reading Challenge- Part 3

23 Nov

pbmlogo

I’m celebrating Picture Book Month by reading at least one picture book a day, and going down the alphabet!

Part 1 of this series can be found here.

Part 2 of this series can be found here.

My P titles can be found here. I reviewed:

Nonfiction titles from O, P and R can be found here. I reviewed:

My Q titles:

Quick as a Cricket by Audrey Wood, Illustrated by Don Wood [**]

Quick as a Cricket by Audrey Wood, Illustrated by Don Wood [**]


Reminds me of Eric Carle’s From Head to Toe. Kids will enjoy identifying with the different personalities of animals.

The Quilt Story by Tony Johnston, Illustrated by Tomie dePaola [**]

The Quilt Story by Tony Johnston, Illustrated by Tomie dePaola [**]


My Picture Book Month Reading Challenge has introduced me to more of Tomie dePaola’s works including this sweet story that transcends time and culture.

My R titles:

R Is for Robot: A Noisy Alphabet by Adam F. Watkins [***]

R Is for Robot: A Noisy Alphabet by Adam F. Watkins [***]


Fun alphabet book with onomatopoeia. Readers can spot at least one other thing in the illustrations beginning with that page’s letter.

The Red Book by Barbara Lehman [***]

The Red Book by Barbara Lehman [***]


This wordless picture book takes readers into a story within a story within a story!

My S title:

Stephen and the Beetle by Jorge Luján and translated by Elisa Amado with illustrations by Chiara Carrer.[**]

Stephen and the Beetle by Jorge Luján and translated by Elisa Amado with illustrations by Chiara Carrer.[**]


A simple story about a boy about to step on a bug he encounters and yet tackles some pretty big questions.

Expect a review of the following book during next week’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

My T titles:

Tumbleweed Baby by Anna Myers, Illustrated by Charles Vess [**]

Tumbleweed Baby by Anna Myers, Illustrated by Charles Vess [**]


An interesting story about a family who finds a baby inside a tumbleweed. Some of them are excited but one particular girl isn’t too happy there’s a new baby.

Tommy Can't Stop! by Tim Federle, Illustrated by Mark Fearing [***]

Tommy Can’t Stop! by Tim Federle, Illustrated by Mark Fearing [***]


Released April 14, 2015! This may be my first 2015 book I’ve read! I’ll review it closer to the publication date but this is by two people whose works I like!

My U titles:

Uni the Unicorn by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Illustrated by Brigette Barrager [**]

Uni the Unicorn by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Illustrated by Brigette Barrager [**]


This has been one of our bestselling titles in the store. We had a diorama based on it and I should have taken a picture of it. A cute story about a unicorn who believes girls exist and other unicorns telling him they’re imaginary.

Uncle Bobby's Wedding by Sarah S. Brannen [**]

Uncle Bobby’s Wedding by Sarah S. Brannen [**]


I like that the issue is that the girl is worried she won’t be the center of her uncle’s universe once he gets married.

My V title:

 The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams, Illustrated by William Nicholson [***]

The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams, Illustrated by William Nicholson [***]


I was going to save this for my Must Read in 2015 challenge. A sweet story about a toy wanting to be real.

 

Leave a Reply

 
