RSS

What Are You Reading? (122) #IMWAYR – November 23, 2014

23 Nov
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating more #Instagrateful days and focusing on a couple of stand-out moments! Read my review for:

heart

Picture Book Month Reading Challenge: Part 3– Read my reviews for:

pbmlogo

My W titles:

While You Were Napping by Jenny Offill, Illustrated by Barry Blitt [**]

While You Were Napping by Jenny Offill, Illustrated by Barry Blitt [**]


An older sister tells her baby brother who was forced to nap all the things he missed out!

Winter Is Coming by Tony Johnston, Illustrated by Jim LaMarche [**]

Winter Is Coming by Tony Johnston, Illustrated by Jim LaMarche [**]


A little girl observes the world around her as autumn ends and winter arrives.

What Forest Knows by George Ella Lyon, Illustrated by August Hall [**]

What Forest Knows by George Ella Lyon, Illustrated by August Hall [**]


A poetic look into the passing of the seasons.

Written Anything Good Lately? by Susan Allen and Jane Lindaman, Illustrated by Vicky Enright [**]

Written Anything Good Lately? by Susan Allen and Jane Lindaman, Illustrated by Vicky Enright [**]


An alphabet book about different kinds of things you can write.

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

Half a World AwayHalf a World Away by Cynthia Kadohata
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I read this in one sitting and I couldn’t stop turning the pages but I didn’t particularly like it. Jaden was a very hard character to relate to let alone understand. The family dynamic was interesting. It made me never want to adopt! At least, the book gave me such a negative experience of the whole thing.

View all my reviews

The Map TrapThe Map Trap by Andrew Clements
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I liked this more than I thought I would. I was fascinated by the whole backstory of how Alton became such a map nut. I liked the friendships that developed. I even liked the conflict that arose. Basically, after showing a popular kid a map he’d made with some rather personal observations about everyone in school, he’s horrified to discover they’ve gone missing.

What I hated was the reveal of the “mapnapper.” As the story progressed, I was already feeling uncomfortable of the bullying/blackmailing aspect and then to discover who was behind it just left me with an icky feeling!

View all my reviews

I Am UnderdogI Am Underdog by Anne Schraff
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I just couldn’t get into the story. It read like a draft and the illustrations were more distracting than adding anything.

View all my reviews

Rhyme SchemerRhyme Schemer by K.A. Holt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Wow! This one caught me by surprise. Of all the middle reader novels told in verse this year- and there were plenty- this may just be my favorite of the bunch. Surprisingly insightful and relatable.

View all my reviews

A Medal for LeroyA Medal for Leroy by Michael Morpurgo
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I found the story quite compelling but it fell short. Half of the book- the meatiest parts- were all telling and not showing.

View all my reviews

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m planning on reading more books for CYBILS and Picture Book Month.

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (122) #IMWAYR – November 23, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    November 23, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    There are several that catch me, Earl. Love the look of Rhyme Schemer, and also Written Anything Good Lately? They sound good, & of course so do many of the others. Thanks for all, & Happy Thanksgiving!

     
  2. msyingling

    November 24, 2014 at 3:28 am

    Half a World Away also made me think that international adoption was a bad, bad idea! The Year of the Fortune Cookie was a bit more upbeat, on the same topic.

     
  3. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    November 24, 2014 at 4:00 am

    So glad you loved Star Stuff! I think that’s my favorite PB biography this year.

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    November 24, 2014 at 4:04 am

    So many wonderful picture books! Added Rhyme Schemer to my reading list, thank you!

     
  5. Cheriee Weichel

    November 24, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    R is for Robot looks like a delightful read. I will have to get hold of Rhyme Schemer as I love novels in verse. Have you read I’ll be Watching by Pamela Porter?

     
  6. Myra GB

    November 27, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    Wow! You gave high praise for Rhyme Schemer – will look out for it. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, Earl! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
