RSS

What Are You Reading? (123) #IMWAYR – November 30, 2014

30 Nov
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

Star Stuff: Carl Sagan and the Mysteries of the Cosmos by Stephanie Roth Sisson [***]

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating more #Instagrateful posts.

Here are two more to finish off my challenge:

At Green Bean Books with Matt Holm (Babymouse, Squish) and co-workers including my boss. Picture from Kari Luna (The Theory of Everything)

At Green Bean Books with Matt Holm (Babymouse, Squish) and co-workers including my boss. Picture from Kari Luna (The Theory of Everything)

Two Boys KissingTwo Boys Kissing by David Levithan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Powerful. Moving.

I’ve been listening to audiobooks while walking to and from work. When I started Two Boys Kissing, I kept on walking and walking. The words moved me. They were so beautiful.

The story is narrated by a Greek Chorus of gay men who’d died of AIDS. That alone is amazing. We meet different gay teens along the way including the titular two boys kissing.

The best kinds of fiction are the ones with strong bases in truth because regardless of whatever circumstances are presented we find something we can relate to.

The first chapter is worth reading- or listening to. It is actually based on David Levithan’s short story A Word from the Nearly Distant Past in the anthology How Beautiful the Ordinary edited by Michael Cart. I ended up reading this after I finished the novel.

View all my reviews

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

The Misadventures of the Family FletcherThe Misadventures of the Family Fletcher by Dana Alison Levy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Cheaper by the Dozen or any large-family dynamic will enjoy this book depicting not your typical set of characters. Four multiracial adopted children are raised by two gay dads. And that’s a summary that definitely doesn’t do the book justice because it’s really not about sexuality or race. It’s about four kids coming of age and into their own in context of their family and friends.

Constantly amusing and refreshing. Bonus points for all the mentions of musicals!

View all my reviews

All Four StarsAll Four Stars by Tara Dairman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a book I passed over when it first came out and now after having read it I am looking forward to the sequel coming out in 2015!

Readers will enjoy the adventures of foodie Gladys Gatsby who is in trouble for almost burning down the house after trying to use a blowtorch to make creme brulee! Now she’s forced to make friends instead of cooking.

She’s also somehow mistaken as a grown up food critic and given an assignment to review a high end dessert restaurant in New York City. To top it off, she’s in sixth grade and has homework to do.

Lots of fun.

View all my reviews

pbmlogo
I finished my Picture Book Month Reading Challenge! I read at least one picture book a day going down the alphabet! Here are Parts 1, 2 and 3.

My X title:

X-Men: These are the X-Men by Thomas Macri, Illustrated by Ramón F. Bachs [**]

X-Men: These are the X-Men by Thomas Macri, Illustrated by Ramón F. Bachs [**]


I only liked this more than I did because it reminded me of my childhood when I would watch the animated series.

My Y title:

You Be You by Linda Kranz [*]

You Be You by Linda Kranz [*]


I enjoyed the painted rocks but even I thought the message was too sweet.

My Z titles:

 ZooZical by Judy Sierra, Illustrated by Marc Brown [**]

ZooZical by Judy Sierra, Illustrated by Marc Brown [**]


A musical in the zoo is put on to combat the winter doldrums.

 Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin by Lloyd Moss, Illustrated by Marjorie Priceman [***]

Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin by Lloyd Moss, Illustrated by Marjorie Priceman [***]


I enjoyed this book so much I easily recommended and sold it right after reading it. It’s a great introduction to musical instruments and a fun counting book. Plus, the illustrations are fun to look at.

wegivebooks
For the rest of the month, I used the Picture Book Month calendar to decide what to read. And, I used We Give Library’s extensive selection to do so! Each book read online equals a book that will be donated to a child. Doubly exciting, from now until the new year, each book read online equals two donated books! I invite everyone to take advantage of this challenge.

Here are the books I read on We Give Books:

Hansel and Gretel by Rachel Isadora [**]

Hansel and Gretel by Rachel Isadora [**]


[Theme: Fairy Tales] I love reading different takes of the same story. This is a much vibrant and colorful adaptation than Neil Gaiman’s.

Skippyjon Jones and the Big Bones by Judy Schachner [**]

Skippyjon Jones and the Big Bones by Judy Schachner [**]


[Theme: Dinosaurs] Skippyjon Jones returns in this adventure involving dog bones which makes think of dinosaurs.

A Mouse Named Small by Louise A. Gikow, Illustrated by Lachlan Creagh [**]

A Mouse Named Small by Louise A. Gikow, Illustrated by Lachlan Creagh [**]


[Theme: Farm] A contest of who’s better and who’s more liked creates tension in the farm.

T Is for Turkey by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Gerald Kelley

T Is for Turkey by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Gerald Kelley


[Theme: Holidays] A cute enough alphabet book about Thanksgiving.

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:


[Themes: Bats and Arts]

Spots by James Bliss, Illustrated by Amy Wummer [*]

Spots by James Bliss, Illustrated by Amy Wummer [*]


[Theme: Creativity] I didn’t realize this was going to be a very basic book- only eight pages long. And it was more about sight and rhyming words than creativity.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (123) #IMWAYR – November 30, 2014

  1. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    December 1, 2014 at 6:07 am

    Again, so many books you’ve read, Earl! I have used Zin, Zin, Zin A Violin more than once through the years. It is good. And thanks for sharing about All Four Stars-will look for it! I love The MisAdventures of the Family Fletcher-great & warm family story!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    December 1, 2014 at 7:26 am

    Good to learn about All Four Stars and The MisAdventures of the Family Fletcher, both added to my to-read list, thanks! 🙂

     
  3. Tara Smith

    December 1, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    Wow – what an amazing selection of great books in your reading week! Two Boys Kissing is in my TBR pile – time to move it up and read it soon.

     
  4. Myra GB

    December 1, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    Love the diversity in your reading list here, Earl. I own a copy of Two Boys Kissing and I am sad to share that I haven’t read it yet. That would definitely be on the top of my list for 2015. 🙂

     
  5. Crystal

    December 1, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    So fun that you got to see Matt Holm. Great idea to read a picture book for every letter. Picture book month is so fun. Have a great week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
