RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 5, 2014

05 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating literacy and festive moments.

storytimelogo

On Tuesday, I volunteered to help out Story Time Oregon (stORytime)– “a new early learning initiative [that] brings together parents, educators, Early Learning Hubs, Regional Achievement Collaboratives, libraries, local businesses, and culturally specific community partners to build awareness and shared responsibility for ensuring our youngest Oregonians are on track to read by third grade.”

They had a launch event at a middle school where three different kindergarten classes and interested parties were invited to learn about the importance of literacy. Each kid also left with a shirt, a placemat, a goodie bag, and a book of their choosing! They also got lunch and ice cream.

I helped hand out the freebies. Some of my favorite moments were:
-In the auditorium, the speaker asked the kindergarteners what they wanted to be when they grew up. Some responses were a firefighter, police, and a teacher. A little girl said, “teenager.”
-After picking out their books, the kids were partnered up with a middle school buddy who read to them!

EveryChild_POSTER_ALL_Final_0

On Thursday, my work was invited to talk to people and agencies involved with kids. We talked about new and favorite books perfect for kids 0-5 years old. There’s nothing I love more than sharing the book joy with other readers. I also focused on books with diverse characters and nonfiction titles.

The last few months have seem to be a time of great new different opportunities but still along the lines of the things that are close to my heart!

I don't know what's going on here but I am NOT that short! Maybe I am but THAT is not the point!

I don’t know what’s going on here but I am NOT that short! Maybe I am but THAT is not the point!

For the festive moment, my roommate and I went to the zoo where they put up a dazzling display of lights. We had hot chocolate and rode the train to view more of the lit up grounds. I really didn’t take much pictures because it was too cold!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 5, 2014

  1. Maria Matthews

    December 5, 2014 at 9:47 am

    I am celebrating with Doris Pacheco, our illustrated book is currently in the line to be printed.
    From the smiling faces in the photograph I can tell you had a splendid week.

     
  2. Maria Matthews

    December 5, 2014 at 9:49 am

    I loved the dog shaped cookies

     
  3. Kendra Limback

    December 6, 2014 at 5:13 am

    Wow! What a cool initiative. It brings a lot of people together. I think Thursday would have been my favorite day, but all around an amazing week. Which books did you share? The lights at the zoo are amazing. It looks lovely!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    December 6, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Love that last picture, Earl-fun when we see ourselves, isn’t it? And love hearing about your Storytime Oregon. What a marvelous thing for those young children. Have another ‘happy’ week!

     
  5. Crystal

    December 6, 2014 at 8:57 am

    Sharing book joy feels so good doesn’t it? It seems that you shared a lot of it this week.

     
  6. Michele

    December 6, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Those lights are so beautiful!
    I love that you share the precious moments you get in your volunteering life.

     
  7. carriegelson

    December 6, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    The teenager line is my favourite! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
