RSS

What Are You Reading? (124) #IMWAYR – December 7, 2014

07 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Reading Resolutions: November Update

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating literacy and festive moments.

Recommended Titles for Kids 0-5– Lots of nonfiction picture books here and some of my favorite picture books of the year!

Lottie Paris Best Place by Angela Johnson, Illustrated by Scott M. Fischer [***]

Lottie Paris Best Place by Angela Johnson, Illustrated by Scott M. Fischer [***]


Library-loving Lottie finds a new friend at her most favorite place. Imaginative and fun picture book featuring diverse characters. I can’t wait to read the first one in the series.

It's a Tiger! by David LaRochelle, Illustrated by Jeremy Tankard [***]

It’s a Tiger! by David LaRochelle, Illustrated by Jeremy Tankard [***]


This would make for a great read-aloud. A tiger ends up turning up in the least unexpected places much to a boy’s dismay!

Into the Woods by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine [***]

Into the Woods by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine [***]


Lovers of fairy tales and musicals will enjoy this play. Familiar characters and new situations. What happens when you get what you wish for? It’s got me excited for the upcoming film adaptation coming out in December 25th!

Goodnight Already! by Jory John and Benji Davies [**]

Goodnight Already! by Jory John and Benji Davies [**]


A fun story about a bear who’s trying to sleep and a duck who just can’t. It’s a familiar plot but at least the illustrations are nice.

 Violet and Victor Write the Best-Ever Bookworm Book by Alice Kuipers, Illustrated by Bethanie Deeney Murguia [**]

Violet and Victor Write the Best-Ever Bookworm Book by Alice Kuipers, Illustrated by Bethanie Deeney Murguia [**]


Twin siblings have different interests but they end up working together on a story inspired by something they overhear in the library. Very creative!

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

Quinny & HopperQuinny & Hopper by Adriana Brad Schanen
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. This falls in the younger age of the middle reader demographic and I can see how this would be a good read aloud to the school-aged under seven crowd. I would be interested to read more of Quinny and Hopper’s adventures since the last part of the book was when it actually got interesting for me.

I liked the alternating chapters with their respective perspectives. I also ended up appreciating just how difficult it must be to write a good kids book.

View all my reviews

The Life and Times of Benny AlvarezThe Life and Times of Benny Alvarez by Peter Johnson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another surprise! Maybe I’m biased towards books that are loosely about the love of words and the power they have to affect people. This one has a group of boys who love synonyms and have some sort of exclusive club. There also ends up to be a poetry battle. But it’s a coming of age story of a boy trying not to make war with a certain girl in his class and trying to make peace with his family who considers him to be too pessimistic.

Funny. Touching. And relatable.

View all my reviews

There Will Be BearsThere Will Be Bears by Ryan Gebhart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bears. Hunting. Two things I had no interest in reading about.

But this book was absolutely captivating! Thirteen-year-old Tyson wants to go hunting with his best friend (who also happens to be his grandpa) to impress a girl he likes. But nothing seems to be going his way. There’s drama at home and in school- and a deadly bear on the loose in the place where they’re planning on going to hunt.

Tyson’s conflicted emotions rang very true. And there were a couple of spots that really took me by surprise.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (124) #IMWAYR – December 7, 2014

  1. The Styling Librarian

    December 8, 2014 at 3:09 am

    Ok, can’t wait to read Lottie Paris Best Place 🙂 Happy reading week to you…

     
  2. msyingling

    December 8, 2014 at 3:27 am

    Here’s a sentence that summed up my reading last week: This wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I thought that a LOT! Not really a good thing. I’m glad you enjoyed a couple of books, though!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    December 8, 2014 at 6:08 am

    Thanks for telling about Lottie Paris-new to me & I’ll share, Earl. Also, the book at the end, There Will Be Bears, sounds interesting. Thanks like always for all you tell about!

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    December 8, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Loved hearing your thoughts on Sandy’s Circus. I think it is a phenomenal artist biography.
    I didn’t realize Into the Woods was in book format–I love that musical.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 8, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    The Bookworm book looks great to me. I like creative books! Whenever I find a book about reading, I am inspired to read it.

     
  6. Myra GB

    December 10, 2014 at 10:23 am

    Into the Woods the play seem to be ongoing in LA at the moment – we saw it being advertised when we went on the hop on hop off bus a few days back. I am very excited about the film as well! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
