RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 12, 2014

12 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating a miscellany of moments, including this:
wtim

Volunteering

But first, I reached 150 volunteer hours for the year during my library shift over the weekend!

I also ended up volunteering for another Early Childhood Literacy-focused session. We bundled up books and kits to go to different minority groups. What was cool was that I recognized some people from other volunteering events and from the bookstore. It’s a great community to be a part of!

Jury Duty

I got summoned for jury duty. It may not seem exciting to some of you but I was glad to fulfill that duty as a citizen. I didn’t get to serve on any trial but I did get some reading for the CYBILS awards!

Festivities

I won free tickets to watch the play production of The Santaland Diaries, based on David Sedaris’ essay of the same name. It was hilarious as to be expected, the kind of humor you sort of feel guilty laughing about!

We had our annual Friends of the Library Holiday dinner at the Board President’s house. There were some delicious food and a book exchange. And we even managed to have a Board meeting!

I read a couple of holiday books.

 Charley Harper's A Partridge in a Pear Tree by Charley Harper [***]

Charley Harper’s A Partridge in a Pear Tree by Charley Harper [***]


This beautifully illustrated picture book includes parenthetical commentary of “an old Christmas carol which proves that it is better to give than to receive.”

Roc and Roe's Twelve Days of Christmas by Nick Cannon, Illustrated by A.G. Ford [**]

Roc and Roe’s Twelve Days of Christmas by Nick Cannon, Illustrated by A.G. Ford [**]


Cute enough picture book featuring Mariah Carey and Nick Cannon’s twins. The text was kind of awkward.

And, speaking of Mariah Carey, enjoy her Christmas classic, “All I Want for Christmas is You.”

Tim Federle

My friend and I got to see Tim Federle at Powell’s for his promotional tour of his latest book, Hickory Daquiri Dock. He was as clever and witty as you imagined he would be after reading his books. I wished Portland wasn’t experiencing winds of up to 60mph that evening because lots of people missed out. He’s quite a swell guy.

He also said a couple of things that stuck with me. One: “Dreams are a lot of pressure. Follow your whims, too.” Two: Writers are people who manage to get words down on the page.

I asked if he were writing some more Nate books. He said he was writing a screenplay for Better Nate than Ever. I also got to tell him I thought his upcoming picture book Tommy Can’t Stop! was a great read-aloud.

wrobin

Charmaine

To my sister, I wish you were here to join in on the festivities.I wish you could see how all the kids have grown and how your daughters look so much like you.And you would have been an aunt again. You’re still so missed in our family. I miss having our little adventures together. And I know you’d be telling me to cut my hair because it’s so long but you’d probably have let yours grow out too because you were a kind soul. I’m making myself unnecessarily sad but my life’s so much better and full of love having had known you. Love you forever.

wcharmaine

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 12, 2014

  1. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    December 13, 2014 at 4:20 am

    What a beautiful tribute to your sister. This time of year is so hard for those of us that are missing loved ones. Hugs. I hope you have a fabulous week full of fun moments like last week.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 13, 2014 at 5:26 am

    Like Andrea wrote, it’s a lovely piece about your sister, Earl. Memories keep us smiling on top of the sadness, I think. Congrats on the volunteer hours. I know you must be so appreciated! Glad you had those author times-you are lucky! Have a next wonderful week!

     
  3. Kendra

    December 13, 2014 at 5:43 am

    I was just looking at Tommy Can’t Stop! and don’t know if I can wait until April to read it to my Tommy. (That title could have been written for mine…can’t.wait.) 🙂
    Great work with your volunteer hours. It seems like Portland area has some great early literacy initiatives.
    Finally, beautiful words about your sister. I agree with Linda, the Memories keep us smiling when we are sad. Thank you for sharing that with us.

     
  4. Maria

    December 13, 2014 at 7:30 am

    Your life is full and celebrations for the week are full circle. Thank you for serving 150 hours what a gift. I served on a jury and I will always be appreciative of that experience knowing how lucky we are to have this opportunity. Your tribute to your sister touched me it’s never easy at this time of year when we are missing our loved ones. Have a great week!

     
  5. Elisabeth Ellington

    December 13, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    Tim Federle! I sat at his table at the Books for Children Luncheon at NCTE, and he was both incredibly funny and incredibly personable. He managed to make a connection with every person at the table. I am socially awkward, so I am always in special awe of those who are socially gifted. Thanks for sharing those moving words about your sister.

     
  6. carriegelson

    December 13, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Earl. This picture of you and your sister and your words . . . Very lovely.

     

Leave a Reply

 
