RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 19, 2014

19 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating more festivities and Green Bean Books!

On Sunday, a friend and I watched The Nutcracker ballet. It was my first time seeing it. I thought I knew the story but apparently not. People had kept saying it was a rather long production but it was actually quite short. Impressive set and choreography although I did find the actual storyline lacking.

megs

On Monday, it was announced that Green Bean Books was one of the recipients of James Patterson’s Saving Bookstores, Saving Lives grant! We couldn’t be more thrilled. What an outstanding human being and literacy advocate James Patterson is!

As the holiday shopping season ramps up, I actually become more grateful to be a bookseller. There is nothing more rewarding than hearing how much our recommendations have been enjoyed and appreciated- from regulars, to new customers, and casual shoppers like the couple with 10 grandchildren who come every Christmas and they tell me their ages and preferences and I pick out books for them! We love welcoming back people to Green Bean Books even if they only come once a year because they tell us they look forward to it.

I’m a lucky guy!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 19, 2014

  1. carriegelson

    December 20, 2014 at 11:45 am

    I think you have a truly amazing job – choosing books to enhance reading lives. What could be better? Happy holidays!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 20, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    Congratulations to Green Bean Books. I hope to visit someday, Earl. What a treasure of a job you have! Happy Holidays!

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    December 20, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    I hope to visit someday too, Earl! Book matchmaking all day every day sounds like wonderful work to me. It’s certainly one of my favorite parts of my job.

     
  4. jarhartz

    December 20, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Hurrah for giving books as gifts! Hurrah for booksellers!! Happy Holidays Earl!

     
  5. Crystal

    December 20, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    I’ve been popping into our local bookstore for gifts lately. It’s a great place to be. Thanks for helping people find excellent books.

     
  6. Kendra

    December 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Happy Holidays! This is lovely. Here is to local bookstores! I’m happy to spend some time in mine over the next couple of weeks.

     
  7. rosemondcates

    December 22, 2014 at 9:29 am

    Very cool! Congratulations!

    Rosemond
    http://www.bighairandbooks.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
