RSS

What Are You Reading? (126) #IMWAYR – December 21, 2014

21 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:
francis

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating more festivities and Green Bean Books!

A Dance Like Starlight by Kristy Dempsey, Illustrated by Floyd Cooper [***]

A Dance Like Starlight by Kristy Dempsey, Illustrated by Floyd Cooper [***]


Beautiful illustrations. Beautiful words. A little girl is inspired to follow her dancing dreams by the first African-American prima ballerina, Janet Collins. We Need Diverse Books and this is a wonderful title that answers that call.

The Cat, the Dog, Little Red, the Exploding Eggs, the Wolf, and Grandma by Diane Fox, Illustrated by Christyan Fox [***]

The Cat, the Dog, Little Red, the Exploding Eggs, the Wolf, and Grandma by Diane Fox, Illustrated by Christyan Fox [***]


A hilarious take on not only a familiar fairy tale but the art of storytelling as well. This is a perfect addition to the many other books that breaks down the wall between the book and its reader.

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

Dust of EdenDust of Eden by Mariko Nagai
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Told in verse, this chronicles the story of one family during a dark period of human history where Japanese Americans were interned. Whole lives were uprooted and destroyed. It still breaks my heart to read accounts- even fictionalized.

View all my reviews

The Battle of Darcy LaneThe Battle of Darcy Lane by Tara Altebrando
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The new girl in the neighborhood threatens to ruin a friendship and the only way to settle it once and for all seems to be through a ball game called Russia. New alliances are formed in this surprisingly honest take of tweens.

Everything about this novel rang true. There will be mean people and sometimes they will win. But there are also good people and they will win.

I loved the portrayal of the parents here, especially at what Julia’s mom says at the end. It seemed honest and a bit gut-wrenching that she even had to say it. I can’t wait to recommend this!

View all my reviews

Expect a review for this book during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

 A Library for Juana: The World of Sor Juana Ines by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Beatriz Vidal [***]

A Library for Juana: The World of Sor Juana Ines by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Beatriz Vidal [***]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m planning on reading more books for CYBILS.

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (126) #IMWAYR – December 21, 2014

  1. Holly Mueller

    December 22, 2014 at 10:12 am

    I enjoyed a Dance Like Starlight, but all the other books on your post are new to me. Soon it will be my turn to review Cybils’ books since I’m a Round 2 judge!

     
  2. Tara Smith

    December 22, 2014 at 11:30 am

    Dust of Eden sounds like the perfect book for our historical fiction book clubs.

     
  3. Melinda Ott

    December 22, 2014 at 11:45 am

    I’m going to have to check out “The Cat, The dog….” that sounds like something my kids would love!

     
  4. thelogonauts

    December 22, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    My students have been cracking up over The Cat, the Dog … all week!

     
  5. Linda Baie

    December 22, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    I’m like Tara, Dust of Eden sounds very good. I love Little Red… Happy Holidays, Earl!

     
  6. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    December 22, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    Earl, I have not read any of these, and many of them are new titles to me. Thank you for sharing them! I love following a blog of someone who works in a bookstore 🙂

    Happy holidays, and happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  7. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    December 22, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    You have some really intriguing books this week. I’m really interested in the St. Francis and Sor Juana books. I’m definitely going to have to seek those out.

    I totally agree with you about The Battle of Darcy Lane. I wasn’t expecting that book to make me as emotionally wrought as it did, but it really captured middle school mean girls behavior in perfect pitch.

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 22, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    There are a lot of great books here, it seems, but I haven’t read any of them! I love all of the new titles. Thank you for sharing them with us. I am most interested in The Cat… book because it looks quirky!

     

Leave a Reply

 
