RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 26, 2014

26 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Christmas one last time- for this year, at least!

On Sunday, we had our work Christmas party at a delicious Italian restaurant. We did a white elephant gift exchange and I ended up with a clown and a big shoe which I’ll probably use as a pot to plant something. What can you plant in a shoe?

meclown

The bookstore has been some sort of winter wonderland with so many good-natured people buying books as gifts. It was lovely being part of their holiday traditions!

I recommended R. J. Palacio’s 365 Days of Wonder to a lady whose family loved to share a short story during their Christmas gathering and they were running low on options after having done it for decades! I suggested each of them could read a quote and even perhaps say a little something about what they just read. I hope it went well!

365 wonder

A little boy sang “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” and that made my day!

To change things up a bit, I went to a church an hour earlier for their Christmas Carols in addition to the mass. I love any group singing and there’s something magical about a sense of togetherness.

And, continuing a tradition I started three years ago, I volunteered to help out for Christmas Dinner. This year, the organization was able to hold their meal at the Portland Art Museum, a beautiful venue and quite unique. I was in the Gifts department where people could pick out a bag full of goodies.

The best Christmas news is that my sister gave birth to a beautiful healthy girl. I haven’t met my new niece yet so I can’t wait to see her next year!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

One response to “Celebrate This Week- December 26, 2014

  1. jarhartz

    December 27, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Wonderful traditions! White elephant exchanges are fun! We did one this year… Haven’t done it in years and really enjoyed the fun. 365 days .. is a treasure. What a great recommendation! Happy Holidays.. holding on for just a little longer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
