RSS

To Be Read 2015

27 Dec

I created a list of 73* titles I want to read in 2015. There will, of course, be more books I’ll end up reading and adding to the list. Some are part of Reading Challenges I’ve set up for myself. (I’ll have a future post about Reading Challenges and Memes I’m participating in for 2015 soon.)

I’m also using this list for my Must Read in 2015 (#MustReadin2015) challenge.

must-read-2015-logo

The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang (Part of the First Book of 2015 and Off the Shelf Reading Challenges)
The Residue Years by Mitchell S. Jackson (Part of my Everybody Reads Reading Challenge)
Precious and the Mystery of the Missing Lion by Alexander McCall Smith
The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Cafe by Alexander McCall Smith
For All of Us, One Today: An Inaugural Poet’s Journey by Richard Blanco
Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong
The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walters
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
The Van Gogh Cafe by Cynthia Rylant
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Watchmen by Alan Moore
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organising by Marie Kondo
Holes by Louis Sachar

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading
Puzzled Indemnity by Parnell Hall (1/20)
Better than Before by Gretchen Rubin (3/17)
Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination Hardcover by J. K. Rowling (4/14)
Babymouse: Bad Babysitter by Jennifer Holm (4/14)
Theodore Boone: The Fugitive by John Grisham (5/19)
The Marvels by Brian Selznick (9/15)
Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert (9/22)
The Inker’s Shadow by Allen Say (9/29)
Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection by Stephan Pastis (10/6)
The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine by Alexander McCall Smith (10/27)
All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey (11/10)
Strange Girl by Christopher Pike (11/17)

Off the Shelf

The Man in the Brown Suit by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Big Four by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
Partners in Crime by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Mysterious Mr. Quin by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
Peril at End House by Agatha Christie (Part of my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge)
The Eye of Zoltar by Jasper Fforde
To Die For by Christopher Pike
Until the End by Christopher Pike
Bound to You by Christopher Pike
Chain Letter by Christopher Pike

Beverly Cleary
Henry Huggins
Ramona Quimby, Age 8
The Mouse and the Motorcycle
A Girl from Yamhill
My Own Two Feet

Kate DiCamillo
Because of Winn-Dixie
The Tiger Rising
The Tale of Despereaux
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
The Magician’s Elephant

National Ambassadors for Young People’s Literature

Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo
Monster by Walter Dean Myers
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
The Stinky Cheese Man: and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scziescka
The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs by Jon Scziescka

Buzzed Books
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (1/6)
The Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart (1/27)
Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan (2/24)
Tricky Vic: The Impossibly True Story of the Man Who Sold the Eiffel Tower by Greg Pizzoli
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Missed Out On

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Dory Fantasmagory by Abby Hanlon
The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale
Lowriders in Space by Cathy Camper

You can follow my progress on Twitter with the hashtag #TBR2015, on Facebook, or on Goodreads.

What’s on your To Be Read list?

Updated January 3, 2015 to include Must Read in 2015 logo!
Updated April 10, 2015 to delete titles and add new ones. There are now 55 books on the list.
Updated June 1, 2015 to add one more title for a total of 56.
Updated July 31, 2015 to replace one title.
Updated September 3, 2015 to delete titles and add new ones. There are now 70 books on the list.
Updated December 3, 2015 to delete titles and add new ones. There are now 73 books on the list.
Updated December 22, 2015 to finalize list.

 

5 responses to “To Be Read 2015

  1. cheriee weichel

    January 6, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    I love how eclectic your list is. I loved A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and hope you do too.

     
  2. Lorna

    April 3, 2015 at 11:52 am

    Such a diverse collection of books here. I’m so glad you enjoyed Flora and Ulysses. And seeing A Tree Grows in Brooklyn on your list reminds me I need to get to that one sometime! Happy reading!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    July 1, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Love the way you’ve organized here, Earl, & noted a few I’d forgotten about. You are a reading maniac! Thanks for all you recommend!

     
  4. Crystal

    July 10, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    I loved, loved, loved both Flora & Ulysses and Shadow Hero – two you seem to have also enjoyed. Your list is so varied. It should be a fun year of reading.

     
  5. crbrunelle

    September 4, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    You’re making steady progress on an ambitious list. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
