RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #52

31 Dec
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

For my last #NFPB2014 for the year, I thought I’d share some of my favorites. I exceeded my goal of reading 104 nonfiction picture books for the year with a total of 119!

Overall Favorites

Life StoryLife Story by Virginia Lee Burton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Life Story is beautiful! The whole world is literally a stage as the book traces the history of life on Earth- from the rocks, plants, animals to humans. I just loved how it focused first in the incredible vastness of space and into her own life and eventually to the reader with these words:

And now it is your Life Story
and it is you who plays the leading role.
The stage is set, the time is now, and the place wherever you are.
Each passing second is a new link in the endless chain of Time.
The drama of Life is a continuous story- ever new,
ever changing, and ever wondrous to behold.

View all my reviews

LocomotiveLocomotive by Brian Floca
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Discover the beauty of the Caldecott-winning picture book Locomotive by Brian Floca! Follow a family as they travel westward by train in the summer of 1869. Full of information, lyrical text, and breathtaking illustrations, this is perfect for read-alouds at home or at school!

View all my reviews

The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-ExupéryThe Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Peter Sís
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Gorgeous illustrations. Lots of information. A little too much, in my opinion, which made it hard to follow the text. Learning more about the life of Antoine De Saint-Exupery made me want to reread The Little Prince.

View all my reviews

Baseball Is . . .Baseball Is . . . by Louise Borden
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Louise Borden hits a homerun w/ her latest picture book BASEBALL IS! A great look into what makes the game so special for so many people! Raul Colom also scores with his illustrations!

View all my reviews

The Tree Lady: The True Story of How One Tree-Loving Woman Changed a City ForeverThe Tree Lady: The True Story of How One Tree-Loving Woman Changed a City Forever by H. Joseph Hopkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Lots of customers have been looking for books with strong female characters who do more than play dress up and wish to be princesses. This is a great example of a book that goes beyond the typical “girl book.” Find out about Kate Sessions who was able to turn a dry desert landscape into a green paradise.

Pair this with Me, Jane and Rosie Revere, Engineer for a sort-of Career Day type of reading for girls.

I didn’t think I would like this book as much. But I did! (And I didn’t realize the author was local.)

View all my reviews

Favorite Series


-Did You Know? by Laura Lyn Disiena, Hannah Eliot,
I’m excited to recommend this new series to kids who love truly fun facts about animals! The vibrant and colorful illustrations add another level of enjoyment. If those weren’t enough, they cram more information at the end of the books!


-Ordinary People Change the World by Brad Meltzer
Ordinary People Change World is a new biographical picture book series from Brad Meltzer, best known as a bestselling author of adult thrillers. Positive and inspiring for preschoolers. Christopher Eliopoulos’ cute illustrations just add another layer of appeal!


-Disgusting Critters by Elise Gravel
A disgusting yet delightful discovery, Elise Gravel’s Disgusting Critters series introduces beginning readers to facts regarding certain familiar creatures. The humor and illustrations will appeal to kids and will want them to read more. Addicting for adults as well!

Favorite Authors/Illustrators

-Jason Chin
-Jeanette Winter
-Barbara Kerley & Edwin Fotheringham
-Steve Jenkins

I’m so happy to have found this meme and community. Not only did I discover great nonfiction titles, I got to meet so many great bloggers along the way! See you in 2015!

 

One response to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #52

  1. carriegelson

    December 31, 2014 at 11:15 am

    A great post! I so loved The Tree Lady as well. My students were enthralled with the story! I also am a big fan of Jason Chin and hope he has another book out soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
