RSS

What Are You Reading? (128) #IMWAYR – January 4, 2015

04 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-To Be Read 2015– Also My Must Read in 2015

-Cybils– The lessons I learned

-Favorite Books of 2014

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
– My favorites of 2014!

-Reading Resolutions: December Update

-Favorite Bookish Moments of 2014

-Celebrate This Week
– This week, I’m celebrating looking at where I’ve been to see where I’m going! Plus, I share my One Little Word.

-My Cybils Shortlist– Reviews for 10 middle grade novels that made an impact on me in 2014.

I’ve been posting everyday since December 24th!

Where Bear? by Sophy Henn [***]

Where Bear? by Sophy Henn [***]


Super adorable story about a boy and his bear. When you literally outgrow your friend will things change much? Where do you go from there?

The Big Orange Splot by Daniel Pinkwater [***]

The Big Orange Splot by Daniel Pinkwater [***]


Many of our customers love this book so I wanted to finally see what it was about. A wonderful book about individuality and letting your house be an extension of who you are.

The Gardener by Sarah Stewart, Illustrated by David Small [***]

The Gardener by Sarah Stewart, Illustrated by David Small [***]


I loved their collaboration, The Library, so it was kind of odd I haven’t read this. A story told through letters about a little girl who loves to garden and her uncle who loves to bake. A very special book.

Please, Mr. Panda by Steve Antony [***]

Please, Mr. Panda by Steve Antony [***]


Another easy-to-love book, this time about manners. Mr. Panda is offering free donuts but not actually giving them away. Why? And, who will say the magic words to get him to share?

Grandfather Twilight by Barbara Helen Berger [**]

Grandfather Twilight by Barbara Helen Berger [**]


A beloved classic. The illustrations were definitely the strong suit of this picture book. The actual execution fell short of the idea it was going for.

Albie's First Word by Jacqueline Tourville, Illustrated by Wynne Evans [***]

Albie’s First Word by Jacqueline Tourville, Illustrated by Wynne Evans [***]


In this fun imagining, the author tackles what Albie’s First Word may have been- and what it took to get the bushy haired genius to finally speak after three years. The illustrations are delightful!

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading the following:
-Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong
-The Man in the Brown Suit by Agatha Christie
-Guys Read: True Stories Edited by Jon Scieszka

What are you reading?

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (128) #IMWAYR – January 4, 2015

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    January 5, 2015 at 4:09 am

    Oh, cool! My students are fascinated with Albert Einstein. I’ll have to check that one out!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 5, 2015 at 5:16 am

    The Big Orange Splot is a favorite in my family, & beautifully done as you said, Earl. I also love The Gardener, have used it as a mentor text for letters. Congrats on all your posts-a lot of books coming your way! Have a great week!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    January 5, 2015 at 5:19 am

    So many recommended titles! Shall look forward to reading Where Bear?

     
  4. Tara Smith

    January 5, 2015 at 9:33 am

    The Big Orange Splot was one of my children’s favorite books – we loved the message of celebrating individuality. The gardener sounds delightful.

     
  5. thelogonauts

    January 5, 2015 at 10:34 am

    Wow, what a busy week! That adorable panda sure has me intrigued …

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 5, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    The cover of Please, Mr. Panda made me laugh. It definitely does seem like an easy-to-love book. 🙂 Happy reading this week, Earl!

     
  7. Michele

    January 5, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    I’ve seen a few reviews of Albie’s First Word. I’ll have to be on the lookout for that one. I’m on hold for Please, Mr. Panda. I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one!

     
  8. Cheriee Weichel

    January 5, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    im impressed by your blogging stamina. I loved your favourites list. I haven’t read Grapes of Wrath for so long is doesn’t count anymore, but I did read and adore Pastures of Heaven last year. I’m looking forward to The Big Orange Splot and Albie’s First Word

     
  9. Myra GB

    January 7, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    I’ve heard about Albie’s First Word when I gave my PBB talk at Baltimore in November – so this is how it looks like – definitely time to hunt that PBB down. I love the collaboration between Sarah Stewart and David Small. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
