RSS

#IMWAYR Part II

05 Jan

I accidentally forgot to include these books on yesterday’s #IMWAYR post.

All three books are on my TBR/ Must Read in 2015 list!

must-read-2015-logo

The Shadow HeroThe Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My first book of 2015 is The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang.

Gene Luen Yang is probably my favorite graphic novelist out there. I won a signed copy of The Shadow Hero last year and made it a point to finally read it.

And, it did not disappoint. A part of me is wary about superhero comics and another part tends to avoid stories with any historical context so I was kind of hesitant to read a re-imagining of the first Asian American superhero. But Yang is such a masterful storyteller. I was hooked right from the start and I wanted more by the end!

This origin story finds a nineteen-year-old grocer’s son donning some questionable costumes after his mom wants to turn him into a superhero. What starts of as (not so) fun and (physically painful) games turns into a revenge story against a crime empire in the depths of Chinatown.

I loved the humor which was the biggest surprise- that with all the action, I would be laughing so much!

If the first book I read in 2015 is any indicator of how good my reading year ahead will be, then I say, “Game On!”

View all my reviews
[We Need Diverse Books]

Dory FantasmagoryDory Fantasmagory by Abby Hanlon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There’s much to like about this new early chapter book series. The format reminded me I should get a move on with my own story I’m working on!

Dory (or, Rascal as she’s called by her family) has a great imagination and very determined to stay in character. She’s eager to please and willing to do anything to be liked. Unfortunately, she has two older siblings who’s rather not play with her at all.

Kids will delight in her adventures, especially with the characters she comes up with. Adults will find her endearing- if not a bit exhausting as well!

View all my reviews

The Princess in BlackThe Princess in Black by Shannon Hale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

One of those newer early chapter books that have been a hit with our customers. Fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Mercy Watson series will appreciate the same format of short chapters and full color illustrations. Kids who love princesses and adults who don’t- or vice versa- will find a compromise with this first book in a new series.

Prim and proper Princess Magnolia has a secret identity. She’s the crime-fighting Princess in Black!

There a few downside to this book:
1) it’s super short
2) it’s in hardcover
3) the next one can’t come soon enough

View all my reviews

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

One response to “#IMWAYR Part II

  1. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    January 5, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    I knew you would like Shadow Hero! It is one of the best action GNs I’ve read. Also glad to see that you liked Princess in Black. I think it will be a well-loved early chapter book.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
