RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #53

07 Jan

nfpb2015

Another year on nonfiction reading! I’m sticking with my goal to read 104 books for this challenge this year and am hoping to read more Middle Grade and Young Adult Nonfiction as well!

Alice Waters and the Trip to DeliciousAlice Waters and the Trip to Delicious by Jacqueline Briggs Martin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t know who Alice Waters was but lots of customers had been buying this picture book about her so I decided to finally read it.

I admire her dedication to bring good food to everyone. I like to think of it as cultivating kindness and mindfulness through cuisine.

I loved the playfulness of the illustrations.

This would be perfect for young foodies.

View all my reviews

Who Was Dr. Seuss?Who Was Dr. Seuss? by Janet B. Pascal
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A couple years ago, I decided to read all of Dr. Seuss’s books. I felt I had been missing something by not having done so sooner. The whole experience just cemented the fact he was a literary genius and no wonder he’s such a favorite of kids and grown-ups!

I had been wanting to read more juvenile non-fiction and last year took on the Non-fiction Picture Book (NFPB) challenge, which I enjoyed very much. I wanted to continue it this year and extend it to include MG and YA.

The Who Was/Is…? series has been something I’ve been interested in trying- and Dr. Seuss seemed like the best one to start with. (Plus, this particular title was on We Give Books, a great site where you read a book online and they donate a book to a kid.)

I felt they did a great job capturing not only his life but his personality. I also learned a few more interesting things about Dr. Seuss like he and his wife Helen had an imaginary daughter named Chrysanthemum Pearl!

I will definitely read more in this series. I can see kids enjoying the short chapters and the included illustrations. Adults can enjoy the rather comprehensive research done for each of their subject.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #53

  1. Myra GB

    January 7, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    I’ve been reading a lot of Dr. Seuss recently for our Throwback Reads reading theme, so I shall try to find this book by Pascal. 🙂

     
  2. Linda Baie

    January 7, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    Love hearing about both of these books, Earl. A friend loves all things about Alice Waters, & is doing “food” this year with her class. She’ll love this book. The Dr. Seuss is one I also need to read. Thanks!

     
  3. alybee930

    January 7, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    Oh I just picked up the Alice Waters book. Glad you enjoyed it and what a great goal. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
