RSS

What Are You Reading? (129) #IMWAYR – January 11, 2015

11 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-#IMWAYR Part II- Read my reviews for:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating still feeling energized from my new year’s resolutions.

Earlier in the week, I checked out some literary exhibits.

At the Multnomah County Library, they had some archival materials to celebrate Literary Arts’ 30 years of writing and literature. Literary Arts has done some great things for Portland’s literary legacy.

At one of the galleries, an artist was showcasing her paintings entitled Shadow Stories. My words can’t even do justice what it’s about so click here for more information.

From the Darkest Shadows Shine the Brightest Light- Erin Leichty

From the Darkest Shadows Shine the Brightest Light- Erin Leichty

In a cafe/art space, a librarian had her work featured in an exhibit called Bookwork. Visit her website for more information including details about the piece below.

Mrs Dalloway (View of the Ouse in Daylight)- Claire Dannenbaum

Mrs Dalloway (View of the Ouse in Daylight)- Claire Dannenbaum


I can’t believe I haven’t read these books yet. I didn’t even though this was a whole series! I loved how the absurd and the oddity is very commonplace in the stories and should just be embraced wholeheartedly. A new family moves into a house and finds a crocodile living there already. He then becomes part of the family.

October the Octopus by Matthew Van Fleet [**]

October the Octopus by Matthew Van Fleet [**]


A huggable board book with tactile and interactive elements that introduces readers to the months of the year.

Supertruck by Stephen Savage [***]

Supertruck by Stephen Savage [***]


Another winning picture book from Stephen Savage. A simple but super appealing story of a garbage truck with a secret identity that saves a city during a snow storm!

You and Me by Susan Verde, Illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds [***]

You and Me by Susan Verde, Illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds [***]


A sweet book about how one friendship came to be and all the things that may have happened to bring about a different outcome.

First Snow by Peter McCarty [**]

First Snow by Peter McCarty [**]


Someone’s first experience with snow which at first meets with indifference turns into a fun frolic with friends.

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena, Illustrated by Christian Robinson [****]

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena, Illustrated by Christian Robinson [****]


Christian Robinson has become an illustrator whose books I always look forward to reading. This one is no exception. Matt de la Pena writes a wonderful story about the beauty of one’s city told through the relationship of a boy and his grandmother.
[We Need Diverse Books]

Happy Birthday, Madame Chapeau by Andrea Beaty, Illustrated by David Roberts [***]

Happy Birthday, Madame Chapeau by Andrea Beaty, Illustrated by David Roberts [***]


I’m a fan of Iggy Peck, Architect and Rosie Revere, Engineer and I was surprised the writer/illustrator team had a new book out. This one is very artsy, stylish and perfect for anyone who loves fashion. I enjoyed the artist’s note on the copyright page. And I learned a new word- millinery!

The Strange LibraryThe Strange Library by Haruki Murakami
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m not quite sure what to make of this book. I’ll have to think about it more and maybe my rating will change.

This was in the adult fiction of a bookstore but some are clarifying it as a children’s novella. I can see how it would be hard to fit into one box. This also happens to be a newly designed version and that’s what caught my eye. Well, that and the title and the author. I had been wanting to read Haruki Murakami but couldn’t really devote enough time to read his books.

The Strange Library is like a weirder and darker Alice in Wonderland meets The Silence of the Lambs. A good boy finds himself a prisoner at his library’s labyrinthine underground level. His only possible way out is trusting a sheep-skinned man and a girl who may not even really exist.

View all my reviews

CuriosityCuriosity by Gary L. Blackwood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked this more than I thought I would have. Usually I stay away from historical fiction but the cover captivated me. (It reminded me of the fortune teller on the Tom Hanks movie Big.) We have a chess genius who, through a series of unfortunate events, becomes a pawn in a greedy showman’s scheme. Fans of Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener will enjoy this as well. I didn’t even mind the cameos by P.T. Barnus and Edgar Allan Poe in the story!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

The Man in the Brown Suit by Agatha Christie [****]

The Man in the Brown Suit by Agatha Christie [****]

The Van Gogh CafeThe Van Gogh Cafe by Cynthia Rylant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is indeed a magical gem of a book. It read beautifully but, while the stories were enchanting and enthralling, there didn’t seem to be a bigger stronger story to make more of an impact.

View all my reviews

Expect reviews for these books later this week:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading the following:
-All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? (129) #IMWAYR – January 11, 2015

  1. kaymcgriff

    January 12, 2015 at 8:09 am

    Books and art, oh my! I love all the picture books you shared. I can see why The Strange Library caught your eye. It looks like something I would like to experience even if I end up not liking it very much.

     
  2. Melinda

    January 12, 2015 at 10:14 am

    I just put “First Snow” on hold at the library for my kids! It looks like something they’d love.

     
  3. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 12, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    I wrote about Last Stop on Market Street this week, too! I am glad to see you got around to The Shadow Hero. I know it has been on your list. That octopus book looks cool, but I saw you rated it two stars. Do you think it is worth the money for me to get it for my one-year-old?

     

Leave a Reply

 
